Interview with author – Katlyn Duncan

kateauthor-pic
Today I have with me, Katlyn Duncan. She was born and raised in a small town in western Massachusetts. Her overactive imagination involved invisible friends, wanting to be a Disney Princess and making up her own stories. Her bibliophile mom always encouraged her love of reading and that stayed with her since. Even though she works full time in the medical field Katlyn has always made time for books, whether she is reading or writing them.Katlyn now lives in southern Connecticut with her husband and adorable Wheaten Terrier and she is thrilled to finally share her stories with the world.
In Soul Taken, Maggie is sucked into the body of someone else – whose celebrity body would you like to take for a joyride in?
Fabulous question! I’ve always admired Jennifer Aniston’s lifestyle and I’d love to take a dip into her world for the day. Plus I believe she has Gerard Butler’s cell phone number and I’d like to give him a call.
Did you base any characters on people you know (naming no names of course)
In Soul Taken there was no one character I based any of mine off of, but I did base Ally’s attitude on several sneaky mean girls from my past.
Tell us about your publishing journey.
I started off a bit overzealous, wanting people to read my unfinished/unedited works and got a lot of hard truths. Eventually I took my time with developing my characters and story while enviously watching others get deals. I actually took a bit of a break from this story but when I read a call for feedback from MIRA I decided “what the heck” and it paid off! The rest is history. 9781472017093_Cover-300x432
What did you find was the hardest part of the publishing process?
Besides actually writing the book, I would say my revisions. The way my editor words them is fabulous but incorporating them into the story while keeping my voice was definitely a challenge.
What is your next project?
I am currently working on Soul Possessed, the 2nd book in The Life After trilogy.
What book are you reading at the moment? Who is your fav author?
I just started my book club selection for this month, Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight. I’ve heard a lot of great things and I am excited to see what all the hype is about.
I have a lot of authors that I love, but if I had to choose I’d say Kelley Armstrong. I came into her Women of the Otherworld series when there were only two left to release but I fell in love. I absolutely love the world she built for her characters and I aspire to inspire others like she did for me.
Where can fans find you online?
Loads of places. I am a social media fiend! I am working on a newsletter right now and will post on my website www.katlynduncan.com
Twitter @katlyn_duncan
And remember to stop by for my review of Soul Taken on the 30th June.
Leave a Reply

