Book Review – Ghost Prison by Joseph Delany

Synopsis:

51gPReGV+GL._SY445_‘This is the entrance to the Witch Well and behind that door you’d face your worst nightmare. Don’t ever go through there.’

Night falls, the portcullis rises in the moonlight, and young Billy starts his first night as a prison guard. But this is no ordinary prison. There are haunted cells that can’t be used, whispers and cries in the night . . . and the dreaded Witch Well. Billy is warned to stay away from the prisoner down in the Witch Well. But who could it be? What prisoner could be so frightening? Billy is about to find out . . .

An unforgettable ghost story from the creator of the Wardstone Chronicles (Spook’s Apprentice) series.

My Review:

I don’t normally review children’s books, preferring YA, NA and adult – but I must admit this one really pulled me in. I wanted something to read to my three young nephews and this traditional style ghost story was just the ticket. I’m not sure how Joseph Delaney did it, but there is just enough scare in this book. Without giving the story away, the ending was a shudder in itself and the imagery of the illustrations, along with the expert turn of phrase, was eerily magical. There aren’t many children’s books on the market that can scare the adult along with the child – but this does just that.

As a writer I think it is commendable to be able to dance that fine line between children and adult horror. More often than not I’m reading books to kids that are quite frankly boring and fail to hold their attention for longer than it takes to plug in the Xbox. But Ghost Prison is a little spine tingling gem that is enough of a scare to keep them concentrating, but not enough to give them nightmares!

I downloaded a kindle galley of this book and, to be honest, the settings and screen wasn’t right for the illustrations – so definitely hard copy would be best to make the most out of the book.

If you have a child around 12 and want to get them into horror books buy Ghost Prison today.  5 out of 5 scary stars.

Buy Ghost Prison

One comment on “Book Review – Ghost Prison by Joseph Delany

  1. Sounds like a great book! Sadly, my kids are too young right now for this – 3 years and 8 months – but maybe I will buy a copy for myself. If I like it, perhaps I’ll remember to pull it out when they are older.

Leave a Reply

