Interview with Heidi R. Kling

downloadWhat do you love about being an author?

Making my own schedule doing exactly what I’ve always dreamed.

What part do you dislike about being an author?

Grammer. ;)

What is the best advice you’ve ever been given?

Write what you want to read.

If you could have dinner with a literary character – who would it be and what would you eat?

If I were 16 again, Gale from The Hunger Games series. We’d eat something we hunted and then talk  running away in the forest, except unlike Katniss, that’s what we’d actually do. (We could drag Prim along. She’d be fine.)

Zombies are everywhere! What do you do first?

 KILL ALL ZOMBIES

  What was the last book you read and what were your thoughts on it?

I’m reading ATTACHMENTS by Rainbow Rowell, and I really like both the writing and her stylistic choices.

If you were a witch, what would be your first spell?

Oooh, that’s a good one! I think I would make someone I know act on what they WANT to do instead of what they think they HAVE to do. We’re so imprisoned by self-appointed chains sometimes, you know? (That’s a good idea for my next book, in fact! Thanks for asking it.)

What’s the one question you’d dread on an interview?

Where do you get your ideas? Because I always answer the same thing: everywhere. But there are  questions I dread. I think it’s awesome readers want to know more about me.

You have a time machine, which era do you go back to and why?

Good one! A tie between the Percy/Mary Shelley/Lord Byron days (only minus the infection and plumbing problems) and Hemingway/Fitzgerald days. Essentially any cool writing troupe laced with good drama and better company.

If you were to cast your book, who would play the leads?51Bp4Uz9U4L

Another good one! Lily would be played by someone I discovered. I also direct and write children’s theatre so I like to think I have a fairly decent casting eye. The actors I’ve thought of previously are getting wee bit old to play her, and I don’t love it when 30-year-olds play 16-year-olds. She’s very fair, so it would have to be someone with flaxen blonde hair and light skin–someone like Aimee Teegarden from FNL, but I think she’s getting took old. For Logan, and this may sound weird, I found the psych patient on that TV show HOMELAND who ran away with the Brody’s daughter oddly Logan-like. There was something very haunted and charismatic about him. There’s a new hot African-American guy on The Originals who’d make a great Chance, his hair and eyes are amazing, and, like Lily, I’m not sure about Orchid. Probably glean someone else off the CW? They excel at casting the beautiful people. As you can tell, I’ve thought nothing about this topic. :D

You free a Genie from a lamp, after wishing away all those zombies from the previous question, you have 2 wishes left, what are they?

World Peace and for my two children to have a lifetime of happiness.

 What’s your favourite TV show, and why?

The Vampire Diaries and…hmm…maybe The Good Wife? It’s so hard to choose as my DVR is exploding with ripe shows. I love TV now. It’s so well-written, well acted and well directed. I’m so busy with my writing, teaching and my family, so at the end of the day sinking into bed with a hot mug of tea and some deliriously good drama is bliss. I’m not picky. And I often live tweet shows! (Come find me tweeting The Vampire Diaries on Thursday!

Where can fans find you online?

My website: http://heidirkling.com is my home for book info/blog/ etc.

I’m very interactive on Twitter and Facebook: heidirkling for both

I’m on Wattpad as “Spellspinners”, Goodreads, etc.

Thanks so much for these fun questions! Hope you enjoy Spell 3!

Leave a Reply

