Interview with E. S Moore

E.S.-Moore-photo-300x259Tell us about your publishing journey…

It was pretty typical, really. I wrote a book. I subbed to agents. REJECTION! I wrote another book. I subbed to agents. REJECTION! Then I wrote another book and surprise! An agent actually wanted me. He subbed the book to publishers. REJECTION! Thankfully, I was working on yet another book so that when that first agented book failed, I had a new one ready to go out. Turns out, this was the one and the Kat Redding series was born.

What do you love about being an author?

Being able to do something I love. THIS was what I always wanted to do. It’s the whole “living your dream” thing. The working from home is nice and being able to see the books on the shelves somewhere is great, but the biggest thing for me is the story. I love making things up for a living.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

I could list any number of characters, including Sherlock Holmes or Harry Dresden, but I think I’ll have to go with Archy McNally from the Lawrence Sanders books. The book is filled with foods and drinks I’ve never tried in my life and think it would be an adventure to have him tell me one of his tales while we sample his wide cuisine.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

Yikes. These are always the hardest questions for me! If I had to choose, I do know I’d go with Fran Kranz as Ethan. The easy answer for Kat would be Kate Beckinsale, simply because I can’t think of anyone else who would fit the role. Besides, she’s done something similar before, so there is that. Clearly I would not be good at casting because I can’t think of anyone else. Maybe I should watch more TV!

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?12482395

Blood hungry monsters all the way. I think you see a little of that in the Kat books. I grew up on the horror vampire, including Brian Lumley’s Necroscope books. There is nothing redeeming about those monsters. To me, there is nothing romantic or sexy about drinking blood. It’s just another form of violence, so why not go all the way and make it a violent, painful act? I do read the other kind of vampires, so don’t get me wrong there. I just like mine to be mean and nasty.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

I’m not sure I’d like to go back to any previous era. I like technology too much and like my hot showers, so going back when there were knights and castles and all of that wouldn’t work, though that was my first inclination. I think I would go forward in time with a time machine. I’d love to see the things I won’t get to see thanks to my limited lifespan. Let me move forward a few hundred years and see how things have progressed. And if a few hundred doesn’t work out, give me a thousand. I think it would be interesting to see where we are going, rather than see where we came from.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

To stop being so worried that whatever I do will be a failure. I mean, even talking to people was a near impossible feat (and sometimes, still is.) I actually gave up on writing at one point because I figured I’d never make it. I mean, how could I think I had anything interesting to say that anyone would ever want to read. I’ve spend most of my life holding myself back because of irrational fear. I like where I am at now, so I wouldn’t want that to change, and perhaps I needed to go through all of that to get here, but still, it would have been nice to not suffer so much.

cover39938-mediumWhat was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

Doctor Sleep by Stephen King was the last book I finished. I was drawn in immediately by the story and writing, and while I enjoyed it, I did feel a tad bit let down by the end. I think I wanted to see more of Dan’s ability and his life as Doctor Sleep.

I am currently reading White Trash Zombie Apocalypse by Diana Rowland and so far, I’m enjoying it greatly. If you haven’t started the series yet, please do so!

Where can fans find you online?

To get the basic information on me and my books, you can find me at http://www.esmoore.net

I can also be found and interacted with on Twitter and Facebook at https://twitter.com/ES_Moore and https://www.facebook.com/esmoore.fan

I also have a Google+ account, but rarely visit there, so unless there are no other options, I’d avoid that one!

I enjoy hearing from readers and other authors, so feel free to drop by and send me a line any time! I try to get back to all of my messages as soon as I can, preferably the same day they are sent.

Buy the Books

Leave a Reply

