My top ten book list

My own over-stuffed book shelf.

My top ten books.

As I’ve mentioned before, you really can’t be a decent writer if you’re not an avid reader, so in that spirit, I’m listing my top ten recently read books – but don’t worry, although there are brief descriptions there are no spoilers.

The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins.

Ok, this really counts as three books, but I devoured them so fast that it felt like just the one. Dystopian, political, gruesome (in places) sad (in places) and above all written expertly well – if you haven’t already read them, ask Santa for this trilogy.

Warm Bodies – Isaac Marion

First person from the zombie’s point of view – need I saw more? Ok, a little more…it has a loose Romeo & Juliet storyline. Is funny and poignant. The film of this will be out next year, so read the book first – just in case the film doesn’t do it justice.

Dark Fever – Karen Marie Moning

Evil alien-like Fae creatures are forcing their way into our world and only one American Southern Belle has the power to stop them! Very Buffy-like in it’s concept and the whole series is thoroughly enjoyable – would love to see this made into a TV series.

Deadlocked – Charlaine Harris

The latest instalment of the Sookie Stackhouse series. I read this in a day! I usually do with the books in this series. It got some mixed reviews about it being overly complicated but, if you love and know the characters the whole thing just gets more intriguing – I was uncertain about the love interest by the end though (read it and you’ll see what I mean)

Incarnation – Emma Cornwall

Taking the point of view of Lucy in Dracula, this Steam Punk story gives us an alternate version of the events that inspired Bram Stoker. Well written and great escapism – although it did take some liberties every now and then.

What’s a Ghoul to Do – Victoria Laurie

I usually find it hard to read ghost stories, but with its fun characters and great premise this one really took me by surprise – A ghost busting psychic detective story which straddles both paranormal and crime novels. Lots of books in the series, so I’m looking forward to working my through to see what MJ Holiday does next.

Masque of the Red Death – Bethany Griffin

A great alternate history steam punk novel that kick starts a trilogy. Interesting concept and compelling characters that really do develop through the book. Manages to paint both a bleak and vivid picture of an alternate Victorian society. Eagerly awaiting the next instalment, which Bethany assures us is under way.

Kitty’s Big Trouble – Carrie Vaughn

I’m a big fan of the Kitty books. She’s a werewolf and a radio show host – what more can you ask for? I like the way the author has developed the character and my particular favourite of this series is ‘Kitty and the House of Horrors’ which was like a supernatural big brother. Big Trouble doesn’t disappoint and, if you haven’t read them, put them all on your Christmas wish list.

Morganville Vampires – Last Breath – Rachel Caine

I bought the Morganville Vampire series a while ago and quickly devoured them. The newest ones are a little jarring though, as the POV switches between characters – which I tend not to like – but the characters themselves are fully fleshed out and the vampire lore in these books is fantastic (I could have written ‘fangtastic’ but I didn’t) My favourite character is Myrnin – a flamboyant fluffy bunny slipper wearing mad scientist vampire, who you never know whether to trust.

The Goddess Test – Aimee Carter

We’ve been saturated with vampires, werewolves and zombies so a book about the Greek Gods is a refreshing twist. Great themes in this one and lots of parallels with mythology. It’s a lovely written YA book that captures you from the very beginning. The ending was quite obvious, but sometimes that’s a nice comfy feeling.

What have been your favourite reads this year?

3 comments on “My top ten book list

Leave a Reply

