The Next Big Thing

What is the working title of your next book?

In the past I’ve mainly submitted manuscripts for joint author anthologies, but right now though I’m just in the final stages of editing my first lone author novella called ‘Bad Blood’ which will be published early next year by Noble Romance’s YA imprint Noble & Young.

Where did the idea for the book come from?

I read a lot of horror and love vampires and zombies, so I thought I’d mash them together in a big bloody mess! ‘Bad Blood’ sees two arch enemy vampires, Britannia and Nicholas having to work together to protect humans in the zombie apocalypse. I’ve always liked the idea of having two characters that hate one another, but are forced to work together to maintain their survival.

What genre does your book fall under?

It’s a YA horror, although could be enjoyed by adults too. I don’t believe in ‘dumbing it down’ for a YA audience or simply ramping up the sex and violence to keep it purely adult. There’s also quite a bit of paranormal romance in there too – I’m a sucker for that genre and just had to mix it in there for my own amusement. I’ve set it in London so it’s very English, although is easily relate-able to all English speaking countries.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Oooooo – well it’s a predominately British cast of characters with the exception of two American soldiers; so I’d really like to see Emma Watson as the main character Britannia and perhaps Andrew Garfield as her unwelcome ally Nicholas. For her lost love American solider Josh, I think Liam Hemsworth – although I realise he’s Australian!

What is the one-sentence synopsis of the book?

Survival instincts run deep, but bad blood runs deeper.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’ve already taken the book to a main stream publisher so it will be available through all the usual channels as well as promoted through their own website. Noble Romance are lovely and all their staff have been incredibly helpful.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your masterpiece?

It came out pretty quickly, probably in about 4 months. It’s written first person from Britannia’s POV and she’s a really strong willed character – even me as her creator couldn’t bend her to my will – so she kind of led the way.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I guess you could call it an Urban Fantasy / Horror and to be fair, there are lots of both vampire and zombie books out there in the same genre – however not that many that throw both monsters into the mix together. I do play with the vampire mythos quite a bit too to serve the story line, and there’s definitely a patriotic theme running through it.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Would it be really narcissistic to say me? I read a lot – and I mean a lot! And I really wanted to read this kind of book. I couldn’t find it out there already, so I thought I’d have at it!

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Britannia has a dry sense of humour and really comes up with some funny one liners. Nicholas gives as good as he gets too. The romance aspect is steady, but doesn’t over power the action. It’s also going to be set as a trilogy (if all goes well)

*****

So that’s My Next Big Thing. Thanks for Rebecca Giltrow for tagging me and I’m going to pass the blog baton onto to these gorgeous literary lovelies:

Julie R Kendrick (@Willow573)

Daphne Shadows (@Daphneshadows )

Rayne Hall (@Raynehall)  – who I’ll be hosting here on my blog

Rebecca Besser (@beccabesser)

3 comments on “The Next Big Thing

  1. Pingback: Next Big Thing: Cannibals and Chains and Amnesia, Oh My! | DaphneShadows

Leave a Reply

