Interview with Gary Budgen

Budgen_photo

Gary Budgen

When did you realise you wanted to be a horror writer?

Well I consider myself more of a ‘speculative fiction’ writer. I write the stories I want to write and sometimes they come out as horror. That’s fine by me.

What was the first story you got published? Is there anything you’d change about it now?

“Planes at Night” in a small press magazine called ‘Ah Pook is Here’. Very pleased to have my first story in a magazine named after a Wiliam Burroughs piece. I wouldn’t change anything really. It was of its time and place.

What’s your thoughts on authors and social media? Which sites do you prefer?

I have a wordpress site and I use my facebook page to promote it. Can’t summon much enthusiasm for Twittter! Writers want readers so any avenue is welcome.

What’s your favourite horror monster and why?

covers

I love marvel comics Man-Thing. The run in the 1970s written by Steve Gerber is fantastic. Stories are woven around the monster that intersect with the lives of ordinary and not so ordinary people. I love the way Man-Thing is connected to a particular place, the Florida Everglades.

What is the worst mistake a new writer can make? And what advice would you give them?

Not editing your work properly. My advice would be to read as much as you can and keep writing. I think it
was David Gerrold who said the first million words are practice. It took a long time to get my first story published, a bit less time to get to 10 stories and less time than that to get to 20, so hopefully I’m getting better at it.

Leave a Reply

