Interview with author Sarah Daltry

poster
With me today is  author, Sarah Daltry.
A funny thing happened on the way to being published…
I realized I like doing it myself. That’s not 100% true and, in fact, I am most likely publishing Bitter Fruits with someone else. However, I did come to the realization that self-publishing is ideal for someone like me. I’m a control freak. I love being involved in every detail. I have a million questions and I want them answered immediately. I want to work on my schedule, at my pace. I want to decide which giveaways and sales I participate in and I want to choose my covers. All of this had led me to love the idea of being a hybrid author. For some titles, I would like the support of a publisher, but I want to keep a few for myself. It’ll be an interesting experiment to see how each path turns out.
Do you always cast your books in your mind as you write them, and if so who would be your favourite lead?
Not at all. I picture my characters, but they don’t look like anyone I can think of and I actually find fault with most suggestions of famous actors as my leads. I also use stock photos for covers and I end up eventually seeing those models as my characters. This is true with every book I read as well, so when they don’t look similar in movies, I feel like it loses something.
What is your fav supernatural creature and why?
Angels. I love angels, especially the fallen ones. Angel and demon mythology ties in very well to my personal love of theology. I know that probably sounds funny coming from someone who writes erotica and romance, but I am obsessed with religious stories and texts. I find them so intriguing. In Bitter Fruits, that’s evident, I’m sure.
Best book you’ve read recently?
Laini Taylor’s Days of Blood and Starlight. I have read many books in the nearly year since I read her book, but it still stays with me.
What advice would you give to other authors?
I’ve learned that it’s important to trust yourself. No matter what choices you make in your writing, someone thinks it’s the wrong one. It could be your editor, it could be a beta, or it could be a reviewer. However, if you believe it was the right choice, listen to yourself. If you let every critic affect what you do, you’ll never write anything. That being said, I do think it’s important to take in feedback. I just think you need to filter what you instinctively know is true and leave the rest.
NA is it the new YA? 
Absolutely not. They are completely different markets. The most obvious is the way that NA pushes boundaries that YA is not ready to cross. But you are also dealing with different fans. There is massive crossover, but the market is still not the same. For example, I’m in my 30’s and I read everything from middle grade fiction to stuff that should come wrapped in brown paper. The context is crucial in appreciating each for its own merits. YA deals with issues that young people face – identity, relationships, family problems, bullying, peer pressure, academic pressure, drug use, violence, etc. NA deals with the problems of people who are older. Their issues may be the same, especially when it comes to those first three. However, when I picture a YA romance and an NA romance, I get a very different idea in my mind. A YA romance is sweet. It often deals with first love, with the emotions that go along with that experience. NA romance is often steamier, even if that doesn’t mean it’s explicit. The characters have had their first loves and their first heartbreaks. They’re not thinking about Prom – they’re thinking about marriage. That is a massive difference for a person and for a reader. When I finish Anna and the French Kiss, I’m not wondering if Anna and Etienne get married; probably, they won’t. They’re what? 18? However, when you read something like Beautiful Disaster, there is a definite possibility of a real long term connection between the characters. Sure, they may also be only 18 or 19, but something changes between high school and college. We date in high school because everyone does and we date the people who are there. In college, we are becoming the people we will be as adults and we are looking for someone to balance us out in our future.
Where can fans find you online?
My website is http://sarahdaltry.com and all my social media links are there, as well as my book titles.
*Sarah’s work and website is 18+
One comment on “Interview with author Sarah Daltry

Leave a Reply

