Book Review: Affairs of the Dead by A.J. Locke

AffairsOfTheDead_ByAJLocke_453x680Synopsis:

Help ghosts, stop a thief, and try not to die…

Necromancer Selene Vanream helps ghosts settle their affairs so they can move on. But when breaking the rules gets her in trouble, she’s bumped down to tracking ghosts trying to avoid the afterlife. Ghosts like Ethan Lance, who claims he was kicked out of his body when someone else jumped in. Which might be plausible—if such a thing were possible. And if Micah, Selene’s partner, didn’t pull her into an investigation of brutal murders that lead directly back to Ethan.

But when the whole mess puts Selene’s life in danger, she suddenly has very personal reasons to get Ethan’s body back. Between her uncomfortable relationship with Micah, and problems with her boss, Selene learns just how much trouble it can be when you don’t follow the rules.

About the Author:

A.J. Locke is an author and artist, originally from Trinidad, now residing in New York City. Affairs of the Dead is her debut novel, and other than writing she enjoys reading, drawing, painting, graphic design, and watching too much television.

Blog: http://iqurae.blogspot.com/

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/AJ-Locke/522250584507699

Twitter:  @maqueripe

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17226279-affairs-of-the-dead

My Review:

Affairs of the Dead is set in a world where the paranormal is accepted, and well, normal. This makes a big difference to the story telling as it stops the author having to constantly hide her characters’ actions.

The protagonist Selene is head strong and sassy and I loved the way she handled herself in some very bizarre and sometimes dangerous situations. There’s a depth to her that will really resonate with urban fantasy enthusiasts. I must admit though that some of her choices and actions were questionable and I think she might prove to be a bit of a ‘Marmite’ type of character (for those outside the UK this means you’ll either love her, or hate her, with no ground in between) But then again, this is the case with most characters you care about. It didn’t end as well as I’d hoped – I can’t say much more for fear of ruining the ending – but I think that was where it let itself down.

From a writers’ perspective, again nothing really new here. The Laurell K Hamilton Anita Blake series has a similar concept of necromancers for sale and I’d just read The Necromancer’s Seduction too, so the premise didn’t amaze me – but what it does, it does very well. It’s got a good pace and a few naughty scenes here and there that spice it up. There’s a generous amount of humour and a solid story at the centre too. The writing was faultless, although some points were repeated a few times.

The front cover was great and again I admit it was the reason I choose to be part of the tour – I know, I should hang my head in shame, but deep down we all do it to some degree. I like pretty, shiny things (maybe I’m a book magpie?)

Overall I’d give Affairs of the Dead 4 out of 5 stars. A promising start to an urban fantasy series that I’d recommend to anyone looking for a good read to take them out of this boring world, and into a more interesting one.

Buy Affairs of the Dead

Amazon  Barnes & Noble  All Romance E-books  Kobo

Affairs of the Dead Banner 450 x 169

4 comments on “Book Review: Affairs of the Dead by A.J. Locke

  1. Haha you took the words right out of my mouth. When I first read, “Necromancer helping others…” I couldn’t help but wonder where I’ve read that before. Anita Blake is awesome, but Hamilton’s writing style is what makes those book enjoyable for me. The humours good, but her books are also very suspenseful. I’ll have to see if Locke does the same.

  2. Thanks so much for your review and for spotlighting me on your blog =) And I think it’s perfectly fine that you choose to be part of my book tour because you like the cover! lol

Leave a Reply

