Book Review and Interview: The Exemeus by Folami and Abeni Morris

The Exemeus CoverSynopsis:

Her short life was devoted to love and to hate. Love of the man who stole her heart, hate for the man who stole the world. Murdered by the government she swore to destroy, she’s been given another chance to make it right. But to save the planet, she needs the help of the most powerful mystic the world has ever seen—unfortunately he hasn’t been born yet.

In a world where fear is the only currency, Dephon has committed the ultimate crime: inspiring hope.

His only goal is to make it safely through ninth grade, but on a post-apocalyptic Earth run by the Treptonian government, it isn’t that simple. Heir to a legendary power, Dephon Johnson is the only threat to the government’s rule. And on Trepton, all threats must be eliminated. When hundreds of assassins are dispatched to neutralize him, Dephon is forced to fight back. His only chance of survival is to enlist the aid of the greatest warrior the world has ever known. The only problem is, she’s been dead for 13 years.

About the Authors:

Folami and Abeni Morris are a sister-sister writing team. Together they wrote (and rewrote) The Exemeus, somehow managing to accomplish it without murdering one another. Despite their facial similarities, tendency to finish each other’s thoughts and stick up for each other constantly, no, they’re not twins and thus deserve their own individual bio.

Folami Morris

Folami grew up in the tiny city of San Mateo Ca, where nothing ever happens and no one ever leaves. She went to Xavier University for undergraduate, getting her B.A in physics and her B.S in Biology. After graduation she returned to California, to live in an even smaller city, where even less happens, Antioch Ca. During this time she escaped the monotony by hanging out with her imaginary friends Hyalee and Dephon, and by writing the Exemeus. She finally escaped to Queens NY and now realizes that quiet and tiny aren’t so bad.

Abeni Morris

As luck (and logic) would have it, Abeni grew up in the same tiny little town as her sister, then she too escaped to the tinier town of Antioch. She has yet to leave. She received her bachelor’s degree in early childhood development from Cal State East Bay. She is the mom of two amazing kids, who swear that they deserve a percentage of the book proceeds and a ton of the credit. At least she raised dreamers.

Interview:

Tell us about yourselves.

To keep it simple we are both educators who love to read and write when ever we can scrounge up spare time.

Tell us about your publishing journey:

Folami: It really was filled with rejection after rejection until I attended the backspace writer’s conference where agents actually said they liked what they saw. However, at that same conference I met Darcie Chan who talked about her self-publishing journey and I thought “I can do that”. I had an uncle who had been pushing us to self-publish anyway, so it all clicked together. I never contacted the agents and I started researching self-publishing.

 When did you discover you wanted to be writers?

Abeni: When I was nine. I would read a book that I just loved and I had to write my own version. At the time I didn’t know that was plagiarism, but it was the start of my writing career. I was only nine, sue me. As I grew up other interests took its place and I didn’t know I was going to be a writer until Folami told me we were going to write a book together. And here we are.

Folami: It was pretty similar for me. At 7 I would read books that just didn’t end the way I wanted them to end. So I would write my own endings. Eventually, I started to write my own beginnings too.

If you could be any supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

Abeni: I can’t say I’m dying to be a supernatural creature, but I would have to say a fairy.

Folami: Definitely not a vampire, sparkly or not, I love the sun way too much. I would have to pick a fairy as well.

What are you reading at the moment?

Folami: I am still reading Jennifer L Armentrout’s Apollyon. I love all of her series, especially The Covenant series.

Abeni: The Azemeon. I have a hard enough time keeping up with our book, let alone reading other books. When we finish I will finally get around to reading Hush, Hush. That is next on my TBR list.

Who are the authors that inspire you?

Folami: I am inspired by J.K. Rowling for her ability to impact millions of people’s lives and create amazing tales year after year. I’m also inspired by all self-published authors who are able to create memorable works.

What’s your least favourite part of being an author?

Abeni: The time it takes to make sure that every detail matches up. It is so time-consuming.

What’s your favourite part?

Folami: I love getting to hold the book in my hand at the end and to know that we wrote it. I also love talking to fans.

What’s it like working with another author?

Abeni: It’s great when its your best friend, but sometimes its tough to fuse ideas together when you’re both seeing the scene so differently.

What are you working on at the moment?

The Sequel! The Azemeon. We’re running late with its production, but hopefully the extra time will make it that much stronger of a novel.

My Review:

The Exemeus tells two stories, one of a mother and the other of her son and is written by two authors (sisters). I was a bit worried about this book for that reason. I myself have attempted to write with other authors and found the results both frustrating and pointless – however – this works. I’d presume that they each take part of the story to write separately rather than writing ‘together’, and if they did, it was weaved together seamlessly. If I hadn’t been told it was two authors, I’d have been none the wiser.

As YA superhero novels go, this has to rank a good one for me. An intricate world, that although is fantastical, remains believable. It was also very evident that there is more to come, as it ends on a big question mark.

The different words for things (such as Trepton for The Earth) were a bit confusing at first, and I must admit that I don’t like having to mentally learn a new language to understand what’s going on in a book.

From a writer’s perspective, I really have to commend the Morris sisters for the book. It flowed nicely, had exciting action scenes and was very well-written. Again even more impressive as it was two authors working together toward the same goal. Most of the time authors are like chefs in a kitchen!

The front cover does let it down for me. It really doesn’t do the insides justice. Although it has an attractive colour scheme, it’s kind of bland and I think that they should have gone for something a little less cartoonish.

Overall I’d give The Exemeus 3 out of 5 stars. Suitable for YA and upwards and definitely should be on your reading list.

Find the book: Amazon | GoodReads

Find the authors: Website 

Link below for the whole tour:

theexemeustourbutton

Win stuff here!!!

Make sure to check out The Exemeus Scavenger Hunt, where you can win a Kindle Fire or $150!  The first stop is at My Guilty Obsession, where you can get the first clues on this incredible journey for an amazing prize!  The Scavenger Hunt starts on Monday, August 26th and runs through Friday, August 30th.  Chances to win are through midnight on September 1st.  Buy your copy of The Exemeus today, if you haven’t already!

cbb(1)

 

2 comments on “Book Review and Interview: The Exemeus by Folami and Abeni Morris

Leave a Reply

