Interview with Isaiyan Morrison

Isaiyan MorrisonTell us about your publishing journey.

The first time I was published was back in 2008 I believe in an online magazine, Twisted Dreams.

In 2010 a novel I wrote was accepted for publication but the publishing company folded before my novel was released. Since then until now I continued to write until Rainstorm Press accepted my novel, Deamhan, early this year.

It’s been a rollercoaster ride.

What part of being a writer do you love most?

I like creating worlds and inviting people to explore them. My favorite part of writing is creating character profiles. I feel like I’m playing God. I have control over them (at times)

Which part do you hate most?

Editing can be a hassle. I also hate writer’s block, especially when you’re trying to meet a deadline.

What life advice have you been given, that you wished someone had given you sooner?

To follow your dreams and to not hesitate. During my youth I was told that I couldn’t do what I wanted to do and that if I tried, I wouldn’t be successful. It was hard not having the support back then that I have now.

If you could be a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

Honestly, I wouldn’t want to be any supernatural creature. If I had to pick, I’d probably say a vampire. Living forever sounds exciting. I wouldn’t want to be a romantic vampire at all.

Which paranormal creature scares you most and why?

When I was younger I was scared of Bloody Mary. I’m not sure if you’ve heard about that tale. Apparently if you turn off the lights and stare into a mirror and say the phrase “Bloody Mary” three times (it changes depending) she’ll appear and come out of the mirror to scratch you or she’ll try to kill you.

I don’t know the origin of the story but it always scared me. I used to have a fascinating with pocket mirrors in elementary school. I didn’t go anywhere without one.

Do you feel that vampires should be monsters or romantic heroes?

I prefer vampires to be monsters than romantics. I understand the need for these creatures to be romantic but in my opinion that overshadows their true nature. In my novel, Deamhan, they aren’t romantic. They’re total different from sanguine(blood) vampires because they’re psychic vampires. Their main focus is survival and if they have to kill anyone in their way to survive, they do.

I believe there is room for romance but it shouldn’t be the main point in a vampire novel.

Who are your favourite authors and why?

I’m a huge fan of Jack Kerouac, Anne Rice, and Toni Morrison.

I read a lot of Jack Kerouac in high school and I fell in love with the beatnik environment. There was something about exploring the world through people and their problems. He was able to make these characters come to life. My favorite novel of all time was written by him, Tristessa.

DEAMHAN OFFICIAL COVER

I also read a lot of Anne Rice in high school and I liked how she incorporated history and beauty into her vampires without tarnishing their evil reputation.

Toni Morrison’s novels spoke to me in such a way that no other author could. Her novels brought me back to reality and they made me not forget the harshness that’s life when it comes to people of color.

What are you working on at the moment?

I’m currently working on the third novel in the Deamhan Chronicles. I’m also writing short stories involving certain characters from the main storyline. I plan on making those exclusive to those who’ve signed up for my newsletter.

Where can fans find you online?

I’m all over the net!

Facebook Page https://www.facebook.com/isaiyanmorrison

Website http://isaiyanmorrison.com

Twitter https://twitter.com/isaiyanmorrison

Novel Website http://deamhan.com

Pinterest http://pinterest.com/isaiyan/

One comment on “Interview with Isaiyan Morrison

Leave a Reply

