Interview with Monique Snyman

Monique Author PicTell us about your publishing journey.

I’ve always been a writer, but I only took the plunge to become a full-time author in 2009.  I was in my third year of university, still searching for a vocation that would ultimately become my life, when my younger sister suggested I write a novel.  She didn’t intend for me to quit school, but I did, and “Charming Incantations: Enticed” was born.  I was only twenty at the time, I was incredibly naïve, and I will admit that I had no idea what I was getting into.  Then again, I don’t regret my decision.  My book was picked up a couple of times by publishers.  The first publisher accepted the novel in 2010, but I pulled the manuscript before they could work on it – I didn’t feel comfortable there – and the second publisher actually published “Charming Incantations: Enticed” in 2012.  Unfortunately they went out of business, so I needed to find someone else to publish the whole series, and Rainstorm Press came to my rescue early this year.

What part of being a writer do you love most?

I’m not a megalomaniac under normal circumstances, but whenever I open a document affiliated with my writing, I turn into a vengeful goddess ready to strike fear into the hearts of my characters.  Other than that, I’m also a dreamer, and throughout my life I’ve seen things differently.  By writing, I’m able to create a whole new world with words.  Besides that though, I love to wake up in the morning and realise that my office is everywhere and nowhere…  Of course, that’s just some of the perks of being a writer.

Which part do you hate most?

The money obviously sucks.  I’m a full-time author, so I rely on my book sales.  I also hate reading some of my older pieces, because I’ve grown as a writer and as a person, and it just makes me cringe.

What life advice have you been given, that you wished someone had given you sooner?

“You are who you are, so embrace life and screw the rest.”

If you could be a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

Hmmm.  Well, maybe this sounds a little sadistic (or perhaps even morbid), but I’d love nothing more than to be the Grim Reaper.  Being Death is like being a writer without having to edit yourself the whole time.  Although, I’m sure George R.R. Martin would be the first pick if that position becomes available, so I’m not holding my breath.  *giggles*

Which paranormal creature scares you most and why?

Demons.  You really don’t want to know why…

Twilight Saga – loved it, or hated it?

The Twilight Saga was published during my teens, but although I read all four books, I found the writing terrible, and Bella to be a very bad example for girls.

If you could have dinner with one of your characters, who would it be and what would you eat?

*grins* Milosh Moore is the Vampire Representative in the “Charming Incantations” series, and I suppose dinner with him would mean I’m on the menu (honestly, I don’t care, he’s sarcastic and sexy enough to make me do anything).

Who are your favourite authors and why?

I suppose I’ll sound old-school, but my favourite authors are Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchet and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.  I’m also enjoying Kim Newman, as well as George R.R. Martin.  The list goes on though.

What are you working on at the moment?

I’m almost done with the first book in my new supernatural series, called “Mocking the Raven”.  It’s a part of the “Project Anonymous” series.

Synopsis: “There are no exceptions. There are no quitters. There is no turning back.

The Project Anonymous initiative was created by the government in the 1940’s to protect the world from the wicked and inexplicable things that threaten mankind’s existence.  Unknown to the public, these soldiers are highly trained to defend and save us all from the clutches of evil and the best place to begin a career like this is by applying to Fairview Military Academy…

Bodies are piling up and the cause is somewhat unknown.  The people of the small town on the outskirts of East Tennessee are confused when the healthy, young residents start dying from what seems to be middle-aged illnesses.  Heart attacks, cerebral aneurysms and strokes are undeniably some of the more questionable deaths, but when a grown man of twenty-three dies of pneumonia on a warm summer’s night, it is clear that something odd is at work.  An unlikely duo of Project Anonymous soldiers is paired up for the case.  Enemies of sorts, Isla and Lucien are forced to set their differences aside in order to solve the mystery.  But while they hunt the creature, there’s still a good chance that these misfits will kill one another in the process, or worse, actually come to a mutual agreement that they have more in common than they like to admit.”

When I’m done with this book, I’m starting work on the third book for “Charming Incantations”.

Where can fans find you online?

 *laughs* I’m everywhere, but here are some links to help you in your search:

Twitter

Facebook

Blog

Pinterest

Goodreads

Tumblr

About Charming Incantations: Enticed e

When Lisa Richards’ parents died, she never thought her life would change as drastically as it did.  Now she has to take over her father’s seat on a secret supernatural council, lead troops into battle against the ferocious Goblin Lord, and try not to get herself killed in the process.

To make matters worse, Lisa thinks she may be falling in love with the socialite werewolf who was simply supposed protect her.

Whoever said growing up was easy, clearly didn’t have to save the world every other week

Buy Enticed.

Leave a Reply

