Interview with Kat Bastion

Shoe PhotoHello, Nicky! Thank you for inviting me to interview with you. I’m honored to be here.

Tell us about yourself?

I love paranormal romance novels, getting lost in the beauty of nature, and acting like a kid every chance I get! I also have an analytical business mind connected to my creative spirit and push paper around in an unglamorous day job. {whispers} I can see the phone booth and my red cape from my office window. ;)

Seeking to give in the world before I receive, I’ve become a champion for charities, the details of which can be found on my Charity Support and Awareness page.

A funny thing happened on the way to getting published…

Ooo…fun! Oh, am I in the middle of the sentence still? Well, that’s exactly what happened on the way to getting my award-winning paranormal romance novel published. I got distracted by the incandescent Robert Frost and then self-published Utterly Loved, a romantic book of poetry, for charity. With all the shiny, distracting options available to indie authors, my course changed. I decided to become an indie author. The adventure has been amazing.

If you could have dinner with one of your characters, who would it be?

Only one? Hmmm…that’s a tough question. The easy answer would be one of the main characters in Forged in Dreams and Magick. I never go for easy, though. {grins}

I would love to have dinner with the brooding, immortal Skorpius. I’ve a strong feeling Sunshine has much to say, and we’ve barely scratched the surface. ;)

Do you believe in soul mates?

Absolutely. We each correspond to another soul in this world who complements our spirit as if created with the other in mind, bringing us alive and whole when connected to them. Could there be more than one? What an interesting thought . . .

If you had a time machine where would you go and why?FIDAM-Cover-682x1024

If I had a magickal box, I would go to the medieval Highlands . . . no . . . I’d go further back to the land of ancient Picts. Wait, I don’t have to. Isobel will take us there. ;)

Seriously. If I could, I would travel to the destinations Isobel does. And to the places she’s glimpsed along her journey: ancient Egypt, a pre-recorded Japan, Atlantis . . . how about the ancient Mayans? {adds them all to my travel itinerary}

What social media outlet do you find most rewarding as an author?

Twitter is unparalled for its immediate interaction and reach. I’ve made great friends in the 15 months I’ve been there, and continue to form connections and build relationships. Follow me on Twitter and say hello!

In addition, I’m new to Goodreads. Their wonderful platform enables me to connect with readers of the same genres of books I love to read. Friend request me there too! I’d love to chat about and share favorite paranormal and Highlander romance books with you!

What book are you reading at the moment?

I have a new reading addiction. Nalini Singh’s Psy/Changeling Series. I’m on the sixth book in the series, Branded by Fire.

What was your least favourite part of writing your book?

I don’t have a least favorite part. Each stage of the process feeds a different part of my creativity, from the drafting, to the editing, to the proofing. Even something as monotonous as proofing is rewarding to me when I find that missing typo or end quote. My favorite part? Editing. I love polishing with editing magic until the story shimmers off of the page into a vivid work of art.

Who are your favourite authors?

With regard to Highlander novels and authors who inspired me to write them, there were two. Judith McNaught’s A Kingdom of Dreams was my first Highlander romance. Julie Garwood’s Ransom was the next Highlander romance that blew me away. Both books I’ve read more than once, and I highly recommend them.

In the paranormal realm, J.R. Ward, with her artfully executed paranormal Black Dagger Brotherhood Series, and Karen Marie Moning, in her unparalleled urban fantasy Fever Series, have both inspired me to write more complex stories and deeper characters.

In contemporary romance, Sylvain Reynard penned two amazing contemporary romance novels about faith, love, and redemption. Gabriel’s Inferno and Gabriel’s Rapture are both new favorite books of mine. Reynard has become an inspiration in how he uses his author platform to support and bring awareness to charities. His influence was an integral part of the foundation for Utterly Loved and inspired a greater purpose for the proceeds of my writing.

A treasure I stumbled across and cherish? Gift from the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh. Her writing is an incredible reflection on finding happiness as we discover who we are. The journey she takes us on is a coming-of-age story not defined by the number of years in our life, but in the happiness we find within it.

In paranormal romance, I also love Gena Showalter, Kresley Cole, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Lara Adrian, and as I mentioned above, Nalini Singh.

What advice would you give to other authors?

Relax and have fun with writing. Creativity comes from the free-flowing, adventurous place in our minds.

Where can fans find you online?

Below are my online locales:

Facebook

Goodreads profile

Twitter

Talk to the Shoe blog

Kat Bastion’s website

Forged in Dreams and Magick on Goodreads

Bound by Wish and Mistletoe on Goodreads

Kat’s Charity Support and Awareness Page

Leave a Reply

