Interview with A. J. Locke

dfa98213a980eae5ccd1e76092a8d768Tell us about your publishing journey…

Like most authors, I spent quite a long time in the query trenches, writing books, polishing them up, toiling over the query letter, sending them out, waiting weeks or months for a response, and most of the time receiving a rejection. I got my share of requests, but ultimately the hopes I hung on those requests were crushed. I spent a couple years in that cycle until a day last year when I was checking out an online writing convention called WriteOn Con. It’s geared more towards YA authors, but there was a section where authors writing for the adult market were chatting and posting their query letters and the beginning of their novels. I wasn’t going to bother even though I knew agents and editors were checking out the convention, but eventually I decided I had nothing to lose so I posted. Soon after got a message from an editor at Etopia Press expressing interest in my book and requesting the full manuscript. I sent it over, and the rest is history. About nine months later Affairs of the Dead was published.

What inspired you to write Affairs of the Dead?

I had a random idea come to me about a character whose job it was to help the dead with unfinished business. More and more ideas kept coming to me so I started making notes, and before I knew it I had characters and a plot, and I started writing.

If you could have a supernatural power, what would it be?

Only one?! That’s not fair! I’d like super strength and speed, and the ability to fly, and having magic powers wouldn’t be a bad thing either.

You find a genie and he grants you three wishes – what are they?AffairsOfTheDead_ByAJLocke_453x680
That I could eat whatever I want without any negative side effects (and thus rendering the need to go to the gym obsolete!), that I was not necessarily rich but living comfortably enough to take care of myself and my family, and that we could all stay young and live forever lol

What piece of life advice do you wish you’d be given sooner?

Don’t be so ready to rush into things. Take the time to think things through before making decisions because once they’re made you can’t go back.

If you could have dinner with a literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

Hmm, I’ll go with Elizabeth Bennet, and we’d have a huge feast at Pemberley.

What is the hardest part of being an author?

For me it’s the waiting. Before I got published it was waiting to hear back on queries and requests, which took many months sometimes. And even getting published involves a lot of waiting, there’s the editing process, then waiting for your date of publication, then waiting to find out how well you are or are not selling. In general there’s a lot of waiting when it comes to being an author and going through publishing, and I’ve definitely had to learn a lot of patience.

Do you find writing adult scenes difficult, or fun?

It’s definitely fun. You have so much freedom with writing adult scenes, whether you want to be sweet, passionate, raunchy, subtle, or naughty. The possibilities are endless!

What are you reading right now?

Right now I’m not reading anything, and I know I need to change that. The last book I read was Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare.

What are you working on at the moment?

I have a few projects going on right now. I’m working on a YA fantasy novel, I’m soon going to be working on editing my next novel to be published by Etopia, Black Widow Witch, and I’m ghost writing an Urban Fantasy novel. I’m also halfway through the sequel to Affairs of the Dead, but it’s on the back burner for now due to writer’s block. I’m not used to juggling so many projects at once, but I’m up for the challenge.

Where can fans find you online?

I can be found here:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/AJ-Locke/522250584507699

Blog: http://iqurae.blogspot.com/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/maqueripe

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17226279-affairs-of-the-dead

Leave a Reply

