Interview with Debra Mullins

Deb MullinsTell us about your publishing journey.

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember. I sold my first book in 1998 to Avon Books, a historical romance about pirates that got published in 1999. Since that time I have published a total of 13 historical romances, all with Avon. PRODIGAL SON is my first paranormal, published by Tor/Forge. I’m very excited, because I’ve wanted to write paranormals for a long time.

 What part of being a writer do you love most?

The ability to communicate with so many people through the written word. I write a story that I just made up from nothing. I make you believe it, and maybe you forget about your own troubles for a while. I’ve received letters from readers who told me exactly that, and it is very humbling. I want to keep doing that, to bring people a way to escape their problems, even for a short while.

 Which part do you hate most?

When the story is being stubborn. Writing is an almost mystical thing. I have no idea where my talent comes from, where these stories come from or where these characters come from. They just show up in my head and make demands. When I try to write the characters in a direction where they do not want to go, it’s like they fold their arms and stamp their feet and refuse to move until I turn them in another direction. Of course, I have to figure out what that direction is first! They won’t tell me. That would be too easy, wouldn’t it?

 If you could be a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

A mermaid, definitely. I’ve always been fascinated by them, and I used to pretend to be one when I was a little girl swimming in the pool. I was a good swimmer and had long hair, so there you go!

 Vampires – scary monsters or romantic leads? Which do you prefer and why?

I’m not much for the scary. My imagination is too vivid, and if I watch scary things, I have nightmares for weeks. I’d have to say romantic leads, partly for that reason and partly because I am a huge Joss Whedon fan. He made vampires into romantic leads, and I loved every second of it.

 What life advice have you been given, that you wished someone had given you sooner?

I wish someone had pointed out to me that I could go to college for writing. I wasted a lot of years bouncing around from different day jobs when I could have been making a living at other kinds of writing, even if my novels hadn’t been published yet.

 If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

I would have to go with Roarke from the J.D. Robb novels. I am first and foremost a romance writer, and my heritage is mostly Irish, so I am a sucker for a handsome Irishman, especially a smart, rich one! We’d dine on all my favorites: lobster and shrimp with risotto, a nice salad and cannoli and chocolate covered strawberries for dessert.

 Who are your favourite authors and why?

Nora Roberts/J.D. Robb obviously. I’ve read every book she’s written, and I learned a lot about writing from her. She can say in three sentences what it takes other writers pages to say.

Mercedes Lackey. I adore her Valdemar series and have extra copies of The Last Herald Mage trilogy, since I keep re-reading them until they fall apart. So glad e-books exist now!

 What are you working on at the moment?

The second book in my TruthSeers trilogy. PRODIGAL SON is the first book.

 Where can fans find you online?

I have a website: www.debramullins.com. You can email me there. I am also very active on Twitter (@debramullins).

About the Author:

Debra Mullins is the author of thirteen historical romances for Avon Books and one paranormal romance for Tor/Forge. Her books have been translated into several languages and nominated for awards from both the magazine RT Book Reviews and Romance Writers of America and its chapters, including the Golden Heart, the RITA, the Holt Medallion (twice), the Book Buyer’s Best Award, and the National Readers Choice Award. She also won the Golden Leaf Award for Best Historical for her book, A NECESSARY BRIDE.

Debra has spoken at various RWA chapter meetings, as well as the national RWA conference, the Liberty States Fiction Writers conference and the Emerald City Writers’ Conference in Seattle. In August 2009, she gave a full day special event for the Orange County chapter of Romance Writers of America with author Charlotte Carter, where she spoke on the topics of character and conflict.

Born and raised in the New York/New Jersey area, Debra now lives in California and has been actively writing for over twenty years. A language nerd, she could speak four languages by the time she graduated high school. At age 16, she went to France on a student exchange program for a summer. By the time she came home to the U.S., she was dreaming in French.

She is currently finishing a paranormal trilogy for Tor/Forge. The first book, PRODIGAL SON, is due out in October 2013. Debra is a member of Novelists Inc., Liberty States Fiction Writers, and several chapters of RWA. You can find her on Twitter using @debramullins and on the web at http://www.debramullins.com.

ProdigalSonProdigal Son

By, Debra Mullins

Bounty hunter Rafe Montana is a Seer, descended from the fabled Atlanteans. He uses his inherited power to “see” criminals across the globe and track them down, and he’s just started on a new case. Danny Cangialosi is accused of disappearing with a stolen car…but for the first time in his life, when Rafe goes looking, he is unable to “see” him. Instead, his search leads him to Danny’s stubborn, meddling, and very cute stepsister, Cara McGaffigan.

Cara is looking for Danny, too, but not to turn him in. He is her brother, after all, and she’s convinced he has a good heart. If she can just find him before the cops do, she’ll figure out a way to get him out of this. But Cara didn’t count on a scorching-hot bounty hunter getting in her way.

Despite instant chemistry, Rafe and Cara know they’re never going to see eye-to-eye when it comes to Danny. What they don’t know is that Danny didn’t just steal a car—he stole a precious stone, a stone right out of the legends of Atlantis. It holds powers they can only dream of…and its owner wants it back.

Buy Debra’s Books

Leave a Reply

