Interview with Ruth Browne

Ruth BrowneTell us about your publishing journey.

I saw an ad by Entangled on one of those writers’ sites, Write Jobs maybe, for a fairytale retold in a world full of zombies. A good idea occurred to me, and I wrote it down and submitted it. A while after that, they told me they liked it and wanted to publish it. After that it was a fairly slow process of waiting, editing, re-editing and polishing. It’s not very exciting, publishing.

What part of being a writer do you love most?

I love that it takes no effort at all. You just turn on your computer (or pick up your pencil if that’s your thing) and begin.

Which part do you hate most?

The part after you start when you have to keep going. Working up the motivation to continue can be a real pain.

What life advice have you been given, that you wished someone had given you sooner?

The same thing any writer will tell you: just write. Don’t worry if it’s good. Spawn now, discipline later.

If you could have a magical power, what would it be and why?

Flight. I love the feeling in dreams. Bound to be just as good in real life, with the right insulation.

Zombies are everywhere…what do you do? cover36130-medium

This scenario is never far from my mind. Ideally, I’d have some early-warning system in place, so that at the first sign of danger I could load up my car with supplies and piss off inland to the Drakensberg Mountains. If I were really worried I’d be taking survival courses right now so I could live up there indefinitely. Failing that, I’d make my way to Parow Industrial and hole up in one of those huge, heavily secured warehouses.

What was your favourite children’s book growing up?

Shadow the Sheepdog.

If you could be a fantasy creature – what would you be and why?

An orc. Maybe a transgender orc. Time to undermine the status quo.

Vampires – romantic leads, or monsters that have lost their literary way?

Whatever you like. They’re about as interesting as Tom Cruise these days.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

Hannibal Lecter, of course. We would eat Martha Stewart. She looks delicious.

Who are your favourite authors and why?

Neil Gaiman, because his characters are never safe and his stories are never expected. China Miéville, because no one else can do what he does with urban fantasy while challenging my intellect at every turn. Terry Pratchett, because he still makes me laugh until I cry. Philip Pullman, because beauty and wonder and worlds colliding. Pullman made atheism fabulous.

What are you working on at the moment?

A short Beauty and the Beast erotica based on the Disney version. Belle is a masochist with a taste for the Marquis de Sade.

Where can fans find you online?

Goodreads, Facebook and Twitter.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/onethousandandonecorpses?skip_nax_wizard=true

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/23797326-ruth-browne

Twitter: https://twitter.com/browne_rh

Leave a Reply

