Book Review: A Tale of Two Centuries by Rachel Harris

a-tale-of-two-centuries-rachel-harrisSynopsis:

Alessandra D’Angeli is in need of an adventure. Tired of her sixteenth-century life in Italy and homesick for her time-traveling cousin, Cat, who visited her for a magical week and dazzled her with tales of the future, Alessandra is lost. Until the stars hear her plea.

One mystical spell later, Alessandra appears on Cat’s Beverly Hills doorstep five hundred years in the future. Surrounded by confusing gadgets, scary transportation, and scandalous clothing, Less is hesitant to live the life of a twenty-first century teen…until she meets the infuriating—and infuriatingly handsome—surfer Austin Michaels. Austin challenges everything she believes in…and introduces her to a world filled with possibility.

With the clock ticking, Less knows she must live every moment of her modern life while she still can. But how will she return to the drab life of her past when the future is what holds everything she’s come to love?

My Review:

I must admit that I didn’t realise that this was a 2nd book in a series – I know rookie reader mistake! But it was a pleasant surprise that that really didn’t matter that I hadn’t read the first book, although now, I think I just might.

I don’t normally read books like this and have never read one about time travel before, however the premise sounded fun, so I thought I’d give it a go. I’m so glad I did!

A Tale of Two Centuries was so engrossing. The protagonist, Less is funny and totally lovable. And although the concept of a 16th Century girl being transported into the future could have been completely cheesy and strewn with clichés,  the author seems to have nicely side stepped them and given the reader a fun, stress-less read to escape into.

From a writer’s point of view, I’m not American so a few of the High School parts were a bit lost on me. I would suspect if Less had managed to jump forward in time and ended up in my British Secondary School, life would have been pretty similar to where she came from! LOL

The front cover is very pretty and captures the overall feel the book, and I’m assuming its of a similar vein to other teen romantic reads. I can’t say this with too much confidence as, when I was a girl I only read the one Sweet Valley High book before I found my way to Anne Rice!

Overall I’d give A Tale of Two Centuries 4 out of 5 stars – a sweet read that keeps you hooked.

Leave a Reply

