Interview with Adrienne deWolfe

liesTell us about your publishing journey

I’ve written six published Western Historical Romance novels.  Two of them became #1 bestsellers (Texas Outlaw and Scoundrel for Hire), and 1 of them won the Best Historical Romance of the Year Award (Texas Wildcat.)

As an aspiring Romance author, I was fortunate to be mentored by published authors.  I vowed that I would someday give back to the writing community the way that my published mentors had given to me. That’s why I created my website, WritingNovelsThatSell.com.

What part of being a writer do you love most?

I love when a character opens his or her mouth and something funny comes out.  You can’t plan humor; it happens organically.  For example, here’s a snippet from Scoundrel for Hire, where the rascally hero (Rafe) is posing as a “Scarlet Pimpernel” type of aristocrat in a deliberate attempt to get under the heroine’s skin: angel

He started to hum, waving his handkerchief in time to the off-key ditty, and Silver gritted her teeth, dragging

him under the circular staircase.

“Must you be such a trial?” she whispered, snatching that

ridiculous linen from his hand. “You’re late. Don’t tell me you spent all this time at the tailor’s, because clearly you did not. Where on earth did you get a chartreuse waistcoat?”

Rafe’s lips twitched as he lovingly smoothed the brocade.

“Rather festive, don’t you think?”

“You don’t want to know what I think.”

 Which part do you hate most?

Waiting up to 6 months to get paid.

If you could be a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

I’d want to be a shapeshifting Cat (of the jaguar/panther variety.) Why? ‘Cause Cats rule! They have 9 lives; they’re thoroughly independent; they’re purr-fectly magical … and men don’t have a clue how to handle them. (Wait a minute. Maybe I’m ALREADY a shapeshifting cat … ) J

Vampires – scary monsters or romantic leads? Which do you prefer and why?

Hmm.  I’m a wee bit torn. Damon and Stephen Salvatore from THE VAMPIRE DIARIES TV series have made me believe that vampires MIGHT make sexy heroes.  But I don’t have any plans to write a Vampire romance.  (Sorry ladies!) When I write, I live through every emotion of my heroines, and I just don’t think it’s sexy or romantic to have my throat slashed open by a panting, red-eyed lover, who wants to suck me dry.

 If you had a time machine, what era would you like to visit and why?

Well, if I could take a battery powered microwave and an immunity to disease with me (I’m way too practical, right?) I’d like to visit a couple of eras:  Medieval England (for the pageantry;) Colonial America (to watch the unfolding of a nation), Antebellum South (to gawk at the plantation homes) and the American Northwest any time before the Westward Expansion (to enjoy uninterrupted nature communion.)

What life advice have you been given, that you wished someone had given you sooner?

“You can choose to be happy on the inside, no matter what is happening on the outside.” How true! But achieving this feat does require you to discipline your mind.  And to stop “indulging” in worry and doubt.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

Scarlett O’Hara, of course! (Uh, I meant I would want to dine with Scarlett, not eat her!) As for munchies during our tete-a-tete:  Scarlett never ate much. She was always so worried about keeping her 18-inch waist. Maybe I could convince her to sip a mint julep with me.

9781614174271_p0_v1_s260x420Who are your favourite authors and why?

Wow! I have way too many to mention. But I’d love to share the books that were my greatest inspirations as a writer.  After reading these 2 books, I knew I wanted to write historical Romance:

  • The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness d’Orczy is probably my all-time favorite historical novel and features romance, secret identities, and plenty of political intrigue.  In fact, you’ll see lots of “Percy Blakeney” in my own rascally Rafe Jones, the hero of Scoundrel for Hire.
  • The Prisoner of Zenda by Anthony Hope inspired my love of action-adventure.  You’ll see lots of adventure in my Western Historical Romance series, Wild Texas Nights.

What are you working on at the moment?

  • DarkWind (Book 1, Guardians of Aeld,) a YA Epic Fantasy series.  For a sneak peek featuring Drakkar, the (hilarious) evil mage visit: 
  • Wizards of the Wild West (series.)  To chuckle at the Wizard’s otherworldly sidekick, visit:

http://wizardmagicfantasy.com/meet-the-wizards-sidekick-a-cornish-knocker-2/

Where can fans find you online?

VELVET LIES_Trio_Adrienne deWolfe

 

 

Leave a Reply

