Interview with Amy Durrant

Amy ProfileTell us about your publishing journey

So my publishing journey starts on a rainy day in the UK and I’ve finally finished my first draft of ‘Prisms’. Like many other authors, I sent the book to a few UK agents and was told that while they liked my writing style, it wasn’t sci fi but vampires that they were looking for. Unfortunately, I have never quite forgiven Stephanie Meyer for this. Anyway, I decided that I’d rather get my book published by someone who would treat it with more care than larger publishing houses and that’s when I stumbled across Rainstorm Press.

What part of being a writer do you love most?

I just love that initial spark of a new story. It often starts as a remnant from a dream in the middle of the night or a line I’ve scribbled down on the back of a shopping list. Seriously, I turn into a kid on Christmas morning when I get a new idea pop into my head and then I become an obsessed writing machine. I start to see the story unfold like a movie in my head and I’m merely a vessel to record it. I think my friends wonder where I’ve gone when it happens.

Which part do you hate most?

It’s weird, but I’m not a fan of writing characterisations like traits and ticks. My characters pretty much write themselves but sometimes I’ll write ‘She anxiously twisted the ring on her right finger’ and I’ll realise that I’m just putting my own traits into the story. So the bit I hate the most is having to go back and make sure that I don’t do it too often!

What life advice have you been given, that you wished someone had given you sooner?

I have a couple of pieces of advice that I actually keep in my head most of the time. The first has just become my philosophy which is ‘Live each day to the fullest’. It stops me from lazing around and doing nothing. And the second piece of advice I actually overheard on a train when I was younger and it stuck with me. ‘Dreams are the seedlings of reality’. If you can dream it, it’s not impossible.

If you had a time machine, which era would you travel back to and why?

This is a really tricky question and I turn into a bit of a geek when I’m asked anything like this. I wouldn’t trust myself to go back in time, just in case I changed anything major but if I had to, I would love to go back to the 1920’s . Incredible music, beautiful clothes, sophistication; I think maybe I’m in the wrong era anyway!

What inspired you to write Prisms? Prisms Front Cover

The inspiration actually came to me when I was in my room, staring out my window on a summer’s day. It was scorching, the kind of weather where your clothes stick to everything and I started thinking about frost forming on the window. I began writing a line of poetry and just kept going. I realised it began to read more like the start of a novel and I finished what became the prologue of ‘Prisms’. From there, I went back to the start and created a world for these characters I’d brought to life.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

It would have to be Catherine Morland from Austen’s ‘Northanger Abbey’. She’s the perfect un-heroic heroin with a mind for gothic adventure. The kinds of stories we could come up with would be terrifying and since she wasn’t incredibly wealthy, we’d probably have a bowl of soup and crusty bread by candlelight. Simple.

Who are your favourite authors and why?

I have a wide array of authors who inspire me but the one who features most in my mind is George Orwell. Not only is he the true creator of dystopian fiction but his accounts of his time in Paris and the short essays which shine perspective on our society are truly inspired.

If the world ended – what epic event (in your opinion) will have caused it?

This is a bit of a depressing answer but I don’t think it will be a natural event like an almighty storm or apocalyptic tidal wave. I think we’ll all destroy each other in nuclear warfare. If one country fires missiles, so will the rest and the world will become a nuclear warzone. But hell, I don’t think that’ll happen for a while! Maybe an idea for a new novel?

What are you working on at the moment?

I have a few bits and pieces on the go at the moment. I like keeping my hand in and changing things up every now and again so I’ve got a bit of a steampunk anti-superhero novel going, I’m trying to wrap my head around the sequel to ‘Prisms’, I have a short dark comedy murder mystery in the works and a story about travel across Europe. I don’t think anyone could say that I have a singular style!

Where can fans find you online?

My facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/amydurrantofficial, is updated a lot with my latest news. I’m also on Twitter at https://twitter.com/_AmyDurrant where I talk a lot about cakes and gaming, and my website is http://www.amydurrant.com. Come check me out!

Leave a Reply

