Interview with Karen Amanda Hooper

KarenHooperTell us about your publishing journey

It has been full of unexpected twists and turns, but it’s been a rewarding ride. I started out as many aspiring authors do, receiving countless rejections from agents and editors for multiple manuscripts. Then, back in 2010, Rhemalda Publishing was interested in Tangled Tides and offered me a deal. I loved Rhemalda, and was grateful and thrilled they helped me make my debut, but self-publishing was becoming an enticing path for many reasons so I self-published the first book in my other series, The Kindrily. I intended to stay with Rhemalda for many more sea creature tales, but sadly, a couple months ago, they announced they would be going out of business. My rights for Tangled Tides and Dangerous Depths reverted back to me, so my self-pub company, Starry Sky Publishing, is now producing all of my books. I actually enjoy the self-pub path because I’m a bit of a control freak and I enjoy being the boss.

What part of being a writer do you love most?

It’s a tie between the rush of writing a new story that won’t allow me to sleep at night, and the messages from fans.

Which part do you hate most?

I don’t hate any of it. I absolutely love being an author. However, really mean, negative reviews are tough to handle emotionally, but it’s all part of the job. I’m even fine with professional negative reviews because I usually learn something from them that helps me become a better writer.

If you could be a supernatural creature, what would you be and why? TangledTidesCover

Ooh, tough one. I’d probably want to be a mermaid. A Violet, of course, which means I’d exist according to the rules I created in my Sea Monster Memoirs series, which means I’d spend most of my time in Rathe. (Aka gorgeous, magical world.)

Vampires – scary monsters or romantic leads? Which do you prefer and why?

I’m not really big into vampires. I enjoyed the Twilight series (judge if you want but it was a darn good story–even with its flaws!) so I guess I see them as dangerously romantic. But other than that, I just haven’t been bitten by the vampire bug.

If you had a time machine, what era would you like to visit and why?

The 1950’s. I would love to wear poodle skirts and drink malts or milkshakes at the local diner while dancing to the jukebox music.

What life advice have you been given, that you wished someone had given you sooner?

“Be patient.” My dad has been trying to teach me that my whole life. I still haven’t mastered that virtue.

DangerousDepthsCoverWho are your favourite authors and why?

Diana Gabaldon reignited my love for reading when I was a teenager so she’ll always be a favorite. I adore pretty much anything Gayle Forman writes. And a good friend of mine just released her debut NA novel, GONE WILD, but I’ve read a few of her other stories and I love all of them, so even though she’s a friend, Ever McCormick is also one of my fav authors.

What are you working on at the moment?

Book 3 of my Kindrily series, and I’ll also be starting Sacred Seas (book 3 of the Sea Monster Memoirs) soon. Plus, I’m slowly but surely co-writing a book with a teen writer. It might takes us a couple years, but it’s fun working on a new YA story with an actual teenager.

Where can fans find you online?

I can be found on my website: www.KarenAmandaHooper.com
One comment on “Interview with Karen Amanda Hooper

Leave a Reply

