Interview with Angela Campbell

Angela CampbellTell us about your publishing journey…

Well, there were these little fairies living in my back yard who promised me one wish and … No, seriously. I’ve always loved to write, even as far back as elementary school, and when it came to choosing a career later in life, I selected journalism because I thought it meant a steady paycheck as a writer. As much as I came to love reporting the news, I never got my love of writing fiction out of my system. I wrote a couple of books that never got published because, in all honesty, they were stinkers. In 2011, I finally published my first I’m-proud-of-this book through Carina Press. I kept writing, and earlier this year, Harper Impulse contracted me for a three-book series. On the Scent and Something Wicked are the first two books in that series. It’s not easy to get published, but if you love what you’re doing enough to keep at it, that persistence and determination can pay off.

What do you love about being an author?

I simply enjoy being a storyteller. It’s fun to create stories that allow you and others to escape the mundane, the hectic, or the chaos of real life. Not everyone is going to love your story, but when it finds its way to people who do, it’s a feeling I can only describe as fulfilling. And awesome.

What part do you dislike about being an author?cover(1)

Nothing. Even though I sometimes find the marketing side of being an author a bit tedious, I wouldn’t say anything negative about it. There are so many writers who would love the opportunity to be in my shoes. I cannot allow myself to complain about anything.

What is the best advice you’ve ever been given?

Don’t give up. In life. In publishing. In anything. Persistence eventually pays off.

If you could have dinner with a literary character – who would it be and what would you eat?

I would love to grab a cheeseburger with Lois Lane. We could chat about the changing face of journalism, Clark and Superman–and how awesome it is that she gets to work alongside them both as an equal.

Zombies are everywhere! What do you do first?

Find Daryl Dixon and Michonne and hide between them!

coverWhat was the last book you read and what were your thoughts on it?

The last book I read was Pooka in My Pantry (Book 2 of the Monster Haven series) by RL Naquin. It was so much fun! I enjoy books that combine humor with fantasy or the paranormal, and this series is just…it’s very entertaining. I love it!

What’s the one question you’d dread on an interview?

Tell me about yourself. I never know what to say that won’t make me seem like a total idiot.

You have a time machine, which era do you go back to and why?

I’d go back to 1968 so I could be in the audience of Elvis’s Comeback Special. And so I could track down my parents and see what they were like before I was born. Maybe play a few pranks on them. You never know…

If you were to cast your book, who would play the leads?

I would absolutely cast Ian Somerhalder to play Dylan, and either Kristen Bell or Laura Vandervoort to play Alexandra. I’m a big Veronica Mars fan, so I think Kristen would hit the humorous and the badass aspects of Alexandra’s personality, but I also think it would be interesting to see Laura play a character like her. Physically, Laura was Alexandra’s model.

You free a Genie from a lamp, after wishing away all those zombies from the previous question, you have 2 wishes left, what are they?

That there would never be another homeless animal in the world, and that I could have Henry Cavill. Er, I mean, world peace.

What’s your favourite TV show, and why?

Just one? Geez, you’re tough! It’s a toss up between Supernatural and Castle. And many others, but I’ll narrow it to just those two. That’s the best I can do. Supernatural—because I love the characters and the journey they’ve taken me on with two hot guys leading the way. Castle—because Castle and I could seriously have fun hanging out together. He’s full of crazy, awesome ideas like I am. I can’t wait to see theories he’ll come up with next!

Where can fans find you online?

They can find me on twitter @angelacampbel or learn more about me at my website www.angelacampbellonline.com. Thank you so much for allowing me to visit on your blog!

Leave a Reply

