Interview with Tommy B Smith

T2007Tell us about your publishing journey.

The writing journey was longer than the publishing journey. Writing was something I’ve always wondered in and out of, but I actively began seeking publication around 2005. The next year saw my first short story sales rolling in.

One of my short stories published in 2007, “Living Poison,” provided an opening for a potential revisiting. In 2008 I set to writing more material revolving around the phenomenon introduced in that story, and this became the novella Poisonous.

The book contains graphic violence, which many publishers prohibit in their submission guidelines. Since the story is a novella, length was also an issue for some. My list of potential publishers was limited, but in 2011, I found a home for it with the newly-solidifying Rainstorm Press. The book was released in late 2012.

What part of being a writer do you love most?

Writing. I’ve heard some writers say that this is their least favorite part. I suppose everyone’s different. Although I enjoy the creative process, it isn’t always about having fun doing it; I don’t think “fun” is always the correct term in my case. It’s a different form and level of enjoyment. Am I making much sense?

I do hope my work can stimulate others and that people can appreciate it for what it is. It captures things which are real to me in some fashion but fictional in another, since it does happen to be fiction.

Which part do you hate most?

As with many things, the political side that occasionally rears its grotesque head. I’ve seen it and I don’t find it sexy. Stay in the swamp, swamp-beast. You’re not why I’m here.

What life advice have you been given, that you wished someone had given you sooner?

“Don’t listen to bad advice!”

That isn’t actually life advice as much as it is life experience. There are situations that would have turned out better if I had trusted my own judgment instead of taking some others’ misleading advice. Conviction doesn’t equal wisdom or experience.

If you could be a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

A bulletproof, fire-resistant flying tarantula that can see in all directions at once.

Which paranormal creature scares you most and why?

None of them, really. I’m sorry. I did have some fear of that nature in my childhood, but most people don’t seem to have heard of the creatures that inhabited my world then.

What was your inspiration for Poisonous? Poisonous Art

Classic slasher horror movies were an inspiration. I also reached into some personal darkness for aspects of it.

Who are your favourite authors and why?

I have a lot of favorites. That would be a very long list. Lately I’ve been thinking of the old epics: The Odyssey(Homer), The Divine Comedy(Dante Alighieri), The Kalevala, and one of my favorites, The Epic of Gilgamesh. I just read Joyland by Stephen King and I’m looking forward to reading Doctor Sleep once I have the opportunity. Giving only a second’s glance, I have Washington Irving, Douglas Adams, Robert E. Howard, and Dan Simmons on my bookshelf. A variety.

What are you working on at the moment?

I’m writing a story based in St. Charles, the city visited in Poisonous, but it’s a different story set in an earlier time period. Poisonous was a somewhat in-your-face approach, though not entirely, but this one is more of a sabotaging-your-brake-lines-and-watching-you-drive-into-the-river approach.

Where can fans find you online?

My author website is at http://www.tommybsmith.com. I can also be found on Facebook at my new Facebook author page at http://www.facebook.com/authortommybsmith

One comment on “Interview with Tommy B Smith

Leave a Reply

