Book Review: Come Little Children by D. Melhoff

downloadSynopsis:

The Nolan morgue is more than just an ordinary funeral home.

When their newest employee uncovers a supernatural conspiracy connected to a string of child murders, she must use every shred of her intelligence to stop a new breed of serial killer and escape the morgue alive.

 About the Author:

D. Melhoff was born in a prairie ghost town located an inch above the Canadian-American border. He credits King, Poe, Hitchcock, Harris, Raimi, and his second grade school teacher, Mrs. Lake, for turning him to horror.

www.dmelhoff.com   www.facebook.com/dmelhoff   @dmelhoff

My Review:

Well, what a surprisingly great book! I don’t tend to pick books like this, I prefer straight forward urban fantasy and paranormal romance as a rule, but this one really caught hold of my attention and did not let it go. In fact, I almost read it all in one sitting (but dastardly real life got in the way!)

I instantly loved the protagonist. In the opening scene she devises a plan to strap together corpses to survive a plane crash – which of course doesn’t happen. But the fact she went through this in her head reminded me so much of myself that I was instantly drawn to her.

From a writer’s perspective, it was beautifully written, entertaining and very gross in places. I loved it! From what I can tell, this is the author’s first book and what a debut! I really hope D.  Melhoff writes many more. The prose is sometimes disturbing – but always hauntingly beautiful. The plot is sneaky and sticky and grips hold of you before you even realise you’re reading when you should be sleeping! I won’t go into the story too much here, for fear of ruining it, but needless to say, you need to read this book.

The front cover is a great representation of the book itself and does a great job of drawing the reader to it – I must admit I choose to read it on the basis of the cover – I know, how shallow am I!

I also loved the little touches of books and movies; the whole Disney’s Hocus Pocus song is at the start is very reminisced of disturbingly gothic nursery rhymes of old.

Overall, I’d give Come Little Children 5 out of 5 stars – an incredibly well written and engaging read that has to go on your ‘to read’ list.

Come Little Children Banner 450 x 169

One comment on “Book Review: Come Little Children by D. Melhoff

  1. Pingback: Winter Blog Tour: November 18 – December 16 | D. Melhoff | Official Site

Leave a Reply

