Interview with Amalie Howard


4693312Tell us about your publishing journey.

My publishing journey is an interesting one. My first novel, Bloodspell, published in 2011 by an independent small press, received eight offers from agents in two days. It was thrilling and awesome and overwhelming. I chose one, who for various reasons wasn’t able to sell the book. We separated and I went out on my own sans agent. My first book wasn’t the major deal I’d been expecting, but it was a start. After about a year, I wrote another book and went out to four carefully selected agents. I signed with The Liza Royce Agency, and continued writing, finishing two more books. In December 2012, my phenomenal agent sold all three of my books within a three-week span—a two-book deal to Harlequin Teen (Waterfell Nov 2013 and Oceanborn Aug 2014), a two-book deal to Strange Chemistry (The Almost Girl Jan 2014), and a standalone to Sky Pony Press (Alpha Goddess Mar 2014). All in all, it’s been quite a journey. And I’m grateful for every grueling, heart-pounding, cushion-throwing, chocolate-snarfing second of it!

What do you love about being an author?

I love being able to share my stories with the world, and also hearing back from readers. I love that my books make people feel something, and I especially enjoy when people get passionate about my characters or plot direction or anything writing-related.

What part do you dislike about being an author?

The rule of thumb is to never respond to negative reviews, but that doesn’t mean those reviews don’t hurt. We live in a technological age where everyone has a voice, and not all of those voices are constructive. Imagine walking naked into the most famous building where you live and just standing there, asking people to judge you. It’s kind of a little like that. Not everyone’s going to be gentle.

What is the best advice you’ve ever been given?

Don’t give up.

If you could have dinner with a literary character – who would it be and what would you eat?

I would love to have dinner with Hermione, and we would eat in the great hall at Hogwarts. I literally salivated every time those scenes came on during the Harry Potter movies.

What was the last book you read and what were your thoughts on it?

The last book I read was Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and it was one of the best contemporary books I’ve read recently. Beautifully written with characters that just leapt off the page. I devoured it in one sitting.

You have a time machine, which era do you go back to and why?

Since I’m a huge fan of Regency romance, I’d choose to go back to the early nineteenth century where I would live as a young countess in Europe. Notwithstanding the corsets, I’d really like to experience the haute ton with all the balls and all the decadence. And if I met a handsome duke, I wouldn’t mind that either.

If you were to cast your book, who would play the leads? cover38277-medium

Ooh, I love this question! I would cast Astrid Berges-Frisbey or Imogen Poots as Riven, and Brenton Thwaites or Nicholas Hoult as Caden. Which one out of each would you choose?

 What’s your favourite TV show, and why?

My current favorite TV show is The Walking Dead. I am addicted, and I don’t even like zombies. That said, it isn’t just a show about zombies. It’s about survival and relationships, and choices you would make when faced with worst-case scenarios. You become so invested in these characters fighting for their lives every second of every day—struggling to maintain their humanity and empathy. It’s very compelling television.

What has been the best Xmas present you’ve ever received?

My Harley Nightster motorcycle last year!

What’s the best part of Xmas for you?

Watching my children’s faces on Christmas morning. My heart just feels so incredibly full.

Are you on Santa’s nice or naughty list this year?

I’m so on the nice list! I am, check it again. You must have skipped my name. It’s there, I swear.

Are there plans for another novel in the series?

Yes, there’s a sequel in the works to THE ALMOST GIRL, which I am currently writing! Riven is on the hunt for her father, but things don’t always work out the way we expect. To save her world, she’s going to have to do the impossible and the one thing she loathes the most—align forces with her worst enemy.

Do you have a New Year’s Resolution in mind for 2014?

The usual—get healthy, spend more quality time with family, help those in need, write more books, give more, worry less, be thankful, and be happy.

If your characters could give your readers a Xmas message, what would it be?

The spirit of Christmas isn’t a one-day thing—it should be an everyday thing. If I could give just one message, I’d say choose to be kind. You will be happier for it.

Leave a Reply

