Book Review: Ribbon of Darkness by Decadent Kane

rSynopsis:

Before Ribbon had a chance to get used to the idea of being an elf, she ran into Draven who’s body jingled her bells. Unfortunately, he’s the spy sent to haul her and her family back to the North Pole on Santa’s orders.

Draven North has had one task for the last twenty-four years: find the Winters family and bring them home. He wasn’t expecting their only daughter to deck his halls. No matter how hot and sassy he found his roguess, he had to take her back before the darkness devoured the Pole and Christmas magic along with it. But was it already too late?

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/u6IX–LJnUc

About the Author:

If I had to describe myself, it would be in a word that has infinite meanings with a complexity which falls off the tongue.

A word made up of many elements, is deceptive in appearance, and creates an illusion from the imagination.

My word would be Phantasmagoric.

FB: https://www.facebook.com/DecadentKane

Blog: http://decadentkane.blogspot.com/

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/23398789-decadent-kane

Newsletter signup: http://eepurl.com/FDtsL

My Review:

This really shouldn’t work – but it sooooo does! I love that Santa and his elves are put in a more adult book. It’s a short read, but is such a wonderful idea that it really doesn’t matter.

There’s enough intrigue for a decent plot and it doesn’t just revolve around the sugar and spice scenes – like some erotic romances do. The main characters were fleshed out and it really is a perfect read for this time of year – as long as you’re over 18 that is!

From a writer’s perspective, the book works well with a release around this time, but does limit the author to really only this season for the next books in the series– unless of course she expands out into other seasonal worlds – maybe the Easter Bunny is a hot muscle bound egg distributor? The flow was great, it wasn’t very long and didn’t take me more than one sitting to finish it.

The front cover is very pretty and I think really does the book justice. The cover artist obviously read the book and listened to the author.

Overall I’d give Ribbon of Darkness 4 out of 5 stars – a fab holiday read for adults who have stopped believing in Santa!

Ribbon of Darkness Banner 450 x 169

One comment on “Book Review: Ribbon of Darkness by Decadent Kane

  1. Thank you so much for taking the time to review and post on your blog about my novella. It’s funny that many people think my elves will only be Christmas or holiday related but in actuality each book will be a stand alone and are set to cover everything from goblins to pirates.

    When I chose elves as my book series I wanted to encompass all of my imagination and not limit myself to just one way.
    My muse is an elf I think and she’s demanding. LOL

Leave a Reply

