Interview with Lori Sjoberg

Lori-SM-222x300Tell us about your publishing journey.

My publishing journey started in 2004. Before that, I wrote mostly in a professional capacity (Reports, financial plans, stuff like that. Exciting eh?). That all changed when a friend bullied…oops, I mean convinced me to read One For The Money by Janet Evanovich. I loved it, and in a matter of days I binge read every book in the series (Hard Eight at the time). To satisfy my need for more Stephanie Plum, I scoured the internet until I found the wonderful world of fan fiction. And when I ran out of fan fiction to read, I started writing my own. Eventually, I moved from fan fiction to works with my own characters. The first two manuscripts are in a box somewhere, never to see the light of day. Manuscript three was Grave Intentions, my debut novel. I queried agents and editors for almost a year before receiving an offer from Kensington Publishing.

What do you love about being an author? 

I love being able to travel any place, during any time period, while being anyone or anything I want. I can be a scientist, a spy, a soldier, etc. I can save the world or try to destroy it. There’s no limit to the possibilities!

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?Grave-intentions-e-book-183x300

Oooh, fun question! I’d love to have dinner with Lestat from Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles. As for food, I’d skip dinner and go straight for dessert since there’s a chance Lestat might make it my last meal.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads? 

Oh man, do I have to tell? I’d hate to ruin the image someone’s already built in his or her mind!

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Sexy leads!

If you had a time machine,which era would you go back to and why?

To be honest, I don’t know if I’d want to go back to another era. As much as I love reading about history, I don’t think I’d want to go without the wonders of indoor plumbing, air conditioning, and modern medicine.

Grave-Destinations-eBook-194x300What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Dream big and dare to fail. Fear of rejection can paralyze your dreams. You can’t succeed if you don’t even try, and every “no” brings you one step closer to a “yes.” It’s easier said than done, but the sooner you cast those fears aside, the sooner you can achieve your goals.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

The last book I read was Kindar’s Cure by Michelle Hauck. It’s an epic fantasy about a princess struggling to find a cure for the illness that plagues her. Lots of action, adventure, deception, betrayal, and romance. I highly recommend it!

 Where can fans find you online?

I can be found at www.lorisjoberg.com and https://www.facebook.com/AuthorLoriSjoberg

Buy the Books:

Leave a Reply

