Interview with Kerry Schafer

smilemeTell us about your publishing journey.

It’s been a very long and winding road. How much time do we have? My very first published work was a poem I wrote in grade school that found its way into some sort of church paper or something. My memory of the details is a little foggy, although I can still recall a few lines from the poem. Which was dreadful, by the way. Since then I’ve submitted poetry, short stories, picture books, and essays to a variety of places. Some of the essays were published and there was a near miss with the picture books. Finally, after years of this sort of thing, I put a couple of chapters up on the Book Country author site and an editor saw it and just like that I landed my first ever publishing contract! Sort of like a fairy tale only with a lot of hard work leading up to the magic.

What do you love about being an author?

Making stuff up and creating new worlds. Also – the opportunities to hang out with writers and talk about books and writing are amazing.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

My current favorite literary character is Dante from Carol Berg’s Collegia Magica trilogy, but I don’t think I’d like to have dinner with him. Bilbo Baggins, maybe, because the food would be excellent and maybe some dwarves and a wizard would show up.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads? Wakeworldfinal

Jason Momoa would make an excellent Zee, I think. And Emma Watson could pull off Vivian.

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Honestly, I think Stoker did it best with the original Dracula – who was both a blood hungry monster and a charming, debonair seducer.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

Can I go back in time in an imaginary world? Because I really want to see Middle Earth, especially Lothlórien, before it fades.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

“Your job on this planet is to be the best and most fulfilled version of you that you can be. Embrace that, and don’t waste time wishing you were other.” Of course, if anybody had told me that when I was young I wouldn’t have understood what was meant.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

A dragon. I’d be at the top of the food chain, have the gift of flight, and be able to set things on fire with my breath.

Where do you write best?

Usually at the kitchen table in my house, when everybody is gone and I’m home alone. But sometimes I need a change of pace and the words will really flow in the coffee shop.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

Burn Me Deadly, by Alex Bledsoe. Great fun – I think Bledsoe is brilliant in the way he mixes elements of fantasy and crime in his Eddie LaCrosse novels. I recently discovered the series and am reading through from the beginning.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

Some of my favorite authors – Martha Grimes, Jonathan Kellerman, Lee Child, to name a few – are mystery or thriller writers. I’d like to see if I could pull it off.

Where can fans find you online?

Twitter: @kerryschafer
Facebook: www.facebook.com/kerryschaferbooks
Website: www.kerryschafer.com

Leave a Reply

