Interview with Sophie Davis

2940044269002_p0_v2_s260x420Tell us about your publishing journey…

When I started my current job, I met a woman who wrote a lot and she shared her work with me. It gave me the idea to actually write down the stories I’d been making up in my head for as long as I can remember. The first one, well, let’s just say it should have stayed in my head because it made NO sense when I put it on paper – er computer. Caged, which is actually the second book in the Talented Saga, came next. I’d developed the story while studying for the Bar Exam as a way to escape reality. About three-quarters of the way through Caged, I realized that there was a lot of back story that I needed to get straight. I started to write the back story down, and before I knew it, I had Talented. The plan from the start had been to self-publish. So, while I was busy editing and rewriting, I was also learning about cover designs, formatting, social media, etc. The first year was hard. I had absolutely no clue what I was doing. I couldn’t use twitter. Designing the website was a nightmare. And I couldn’t figure out how to format the manuscripts for Smashwords. It was sort of a mess. But after a lot of thought, I made the decision to overhaul everything at the beginning of last year. I had new covers made, the books professionally edited, and made a real effort to learn how to better reach my audience. I still have tons to learn, but it isn’t so overwhelming anymore. It has been a lot of work and extremely hard and frustrating at times, but I have loved every minute of it. In retrospect, there are some things I might have done differently, but not the decision to self-publish.

What do you love about being an author?

I love getting emails from readers. I love hearing what people think of the books.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00007]

Alex Cross. I am very curious if he wants to continue being put through the ringer, or if he just wants to be retired and go live on a tropical island. We’d definitely eat at Ben’s Chili Bowl. It’s a famous hole-in-the-wall in Washington, D.C. Since we both live in the city, I think it would be a good place to meet.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

Man, I’d be so over the moon if Talented was made into a movie! I think my dream cast would have Lucy Hale (from Pretty Little Liars) as Talia and Zac Efron as Erik.

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Sexy leads – no question.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

The twenties. Ever since I saw Dick Tracy as a child, I have wanted to go to a speakeasy and wear a flapper dress. Also, my father was into classic cars, and I used to go to car shows with him. I fell in love with the cars from that era.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Hmmmmm….that you shouldn’t make your puppy so dependent on you. I got a poodle puppy for my 25th birthday. All I wanted was a little furry companion. Well, because I took her everywhere, had her sleep in my bed, carried her around the house, and basically kept her with me always while in law school, now – seven years later – she is practically attached to my ankle. I had to put an extra chair at my computer desk so she has somewhere to sit. Otherwise she insists on sitting in my lap. She sleeps on my pillow. She follows me everywhere – EVERYWHERE. She attacks any other animal that gets anywhere near me. I love her very much, but she is a huge brat. Whenever I tell my mother about something the poodle did, she says, “You have no one to blame but yourself. You made her this way.”

I also wish someone had told me that you really do need to take your car in for oil changes BEFORE the oil light comes on. I think my father did, but I didn’t listen.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00007]If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

Any creature that can turn invisible. I love people watching, but hate being watched.

Where do you write best?

At my desktop. I have a huge monitor and my desk is located about five feet from my Keuring.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

I just re-read the entire Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead in preparation for the movie. I LOVE the series. It was actually one of the first YA series I read as an adult.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

I would love to write Mystery/Crime/thriller books. I interned in a District Attorney’s Office, and worked on the defense side for a little while. I also have a background in Forensic Science, so I’d really love to write a good legal thriler. I have so ideas, so maybe one day…..

Where can fans find you online?

Twitter:  @sophiedavisbook
One comment on “Interview with Sophie Davis

Leave a Reply

