Interview with Aoife Marie Sheridan

authorTell us about your publishing journey…

Where to start…. When I wrote Eden Forest it wasn’t intended for anyone else to read, I wrote it for myself to help me through my grief of losing someone. Anyway my family picked it up, read it and said I had to get it published. Didn’t think too much about it but sent it out to publishers around Ireland got a few no’s then finally got a yes and Eden Forest was then published nine months later on 28th of September 2012. I got very lucky and got it with a large book franchise here in Ireland called Eason’s I always went to this store, so to see my own book on the shelf was overwhelming. After that I did a good few interviews on the radio and had a successful book launch it was all very exciting. I had no idea about marketing and had to step up my game, this was the part I found the hardest and very overwhelming. I didn’t even use facebook, never mind twitter or anything as such. A blog (what’s that) I really hadn’t a clue. So we are over a year on and I feel I am finding my feet. There is so much more work involved then anyone could ever imagine. But I wouldn’t turn the clock back or change anything for a second. I feel very honored to have people read my work and review it. That’s what it’s all about for me.

What do you love about being an author?

Answer: I love all the people I have meet while being an author, there are so many other authors out there that are willing to help spread the word about my own work that it’s overwhelming at times. I didn’t believe that we would help one another but I was very wrong and will always be grateful to the authors who helped spread the word about Eden Forest.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

Wow… Valek from poison study would so love to have dinner with him. Not sure if I would eat anything more than likely he would poison me.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?1

A dream cast if there was a movie, this is like the dream I think for most writers. Okay so here we go, love thinking about this.

Tristan :Chris Hemsworth
Morrick: Liam Nesson
Legis: Ryan Gosling
Mirium: Ian McKellen
Marta: Julia Roberts
Jessica: Emma Watson
Sarajane: Jennifer Lawrence
Bellona: Nicole Kidman
Musa: Morgan Freeman
Carew: Jason Momoa
Mei: Landry Bender
Alana: Amanda Seyfried

Who is your favourite author, and why?

Maria V. Snyder hands down, just love her style and her world building is mind blowing. She always has a strong female character in the main role and I love reading from a woman’s perspective.

If you could be a supernatural creature – which would it be and why?

A shifter. Because they are like human only live longer and they can shift into an animal.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

I would love to go back to the day that man lived in the wilderness, with no buildings or anything that exists now. I would love to see live raw and live that way.

2What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Relax, wants meant for you won’t go by you.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

The Scourge. It was a story told from the perspective of a blind girl, something I had never read before and I found the story amazing, we mostly only got the descriptions through the smell and touch of things or if someone described them for Fennel. It was tough and frustrating at times I was screaming open your eyes, then remembering she couldn’t see. Overall an amazing story.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

I love fantasy/paranormal that’s what I write in, but if I didn’t it would be dystopia. I love this genre and could read them all day, but I haven’t been able to come up with anything new or original, it’s all been done a hundred times, so will stick to my own.

Where can fans find you online?

Author Website

Facebook Fan Page

Pinterest

Book Blogs

WordPress Blog

Tumblr

Goodreads

Pearltree

Google +

Shelfari

Groups on Goodreads 

Twitter

Saskia Trilogy Banner 450 x 169

2 comments on “Interview with Aoife Marie Sheridan

Leave a Reply

