Interview with Eden Royce

Eden PictureTell us about your publishing journey…

The first story I ever had officially published was an erotica short with Oysters and Chocolate. I was terrified of even sending the email to them, but they were wonderful to work with. After that, I started focusing on horror/dark fantasy tales and submitting them to small presses. I currently have over a dozen in various anthologies. Last year I released my first self-published novella, “Containment”.

What do you love about being an author?

The creativity. The fact that I can say, “WTF” as I am writing and know that can be a good thing.

Do you prefer editing or writing?

I enjoy both. Editing when I’m feeling precise and writing when I’m in a more artsy mood.

What’s the hardest part of being an editor and working with other authors? ContainmentFinalFront

Keeping up with all the submissions. Spreadsheets rule!

What advice would you give to would-be writers looking to get published?

Research the publisher or agent before making contact. Find out the correct formatting for your manuscript, learn the craft of writing (sentence structure, pacing, etc…) and READ widely. In and out of the genre that you write. It helps you become a better writer.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

This is a difficult question as I have several I’d like to choose. Hmm… I think Hannibal Lecter. As long as I wasn’t on the menu, I’d trust him to create a menu for us. I’m sure it would include an excellent wine.

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

I like the idea of a sexy Byronesque lead that can become a monster when the situation calls for it. Vampires should always be dark and dangerous and mysterious, without fairy-like qualities.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Stop worrying! (I may have been given it sooner, but I didn’t listen.)

Grotesquerie_72dpiIf you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

I’d be a djinn. Shape-shifting, wish-granting, time-traveling immortals. What’s not to like? But I’d only grant certain wishes at my discretion.

Where do you write best?

Typically at home at my desk. Occasionally I’ll venture out to a coffee shop and make a lot of progress, but I mainly end up having too much espresso.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

I read “Bronze Gods” by A.A. Aguirre. I loved that I had no idea until after I read it that it was written by two different authors, a husband and wife team. The story was seamless; a believable world paired with realistic characters that made me care about them. I won the book, but I’ll be buying the next in the series.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

I’ve written in several genres: horror, erotica, dark fantasy, and steampunk. If I had to name another I want to tackle it would be mystery.

Where can fans find you online?

http://edenroyce.com/

http://darkgeisha.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/EdenRoyce

https://www.facebook.com/eden.royce

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Eden-Royce-The-Dark-Geisha/175439055801467

One comment on “Interview with Eden Royce

Leave a Reply

