Interview with Danube Adele

get-attachment (7)Tell us about your publishing journey…

I can’t remember a time when I didn’t love to write. My mother was definitely an influence from an early age. She loved to read and write, and encouraged me to do so as well. She was my first editor. I can still remember when she’d read my pages and show me how to tighten up my sentences. Fast forward several years, and I enjoyed writing in college, graduating with a BA in Theater, my emphasis being playwriting/screenwriting. But that doesn’t pay the bills, right? Fast forward yet again, and you’ll find me married to the most wonderful man, and with a set of amazing, adorable identical twin boys who have reached the very capable age of 9 and are doing more for themselves, which suddenly leaves me with time on my hands. I decide to start writing again. QUICKSILVER DREAMS began as a fun experiment to see if I could write in the first person, but then the “what if” questions started pouring through my head and I found myself with a full-length novel that I was absolutely in love with. When I decided to get serious, I joined RWA, began attending meetings and conferences, and really bit the bullet by pitching to editors and agents. As a “let’s break the ice”, I sent my script to Carina Press in October of 2012, and by spring of 2013, I was contacted by Angela James. It was absolutely exciting.

What do you love about being an author?

Seeing my stories come to life, and not just remain trapped in my own head, has been absolutely satisfying. These characters talked at me, harassed me, sort of demanded their space, and I finally made myself get serious. Writing is a solo sport that requires a lot of time, patience and quiet. Over a nearly two year period, I tinkered on QUICKSILVER DREAMS and asked my wonderful critique partner over and over again to read pages for me. I made myself keep writing to the end of it, with great encouragement from my husband. My usual m.o. was to keep starting something new, never finishing what I last started. It was a bad habit.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

I think Walt Whitman would have been a kick in the pants to hang out with. He was a pioneer, one of the most significant American poets. Even the great transcendentalist, Ralph Waldo Emerson, loved his work. To pick his brain would have been fantastic. We would need simple food, not messy, because we wouldn’t want to be distracted from the great conversation we would be having. Our faire: simple meats, cheese, baguette, fruit and wine while sitting in an informal, sort of lounging, comfortable living room setting.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads? 8222494

I think Liam Hemsworth and Jennifer Lawrence would be great as Ryder and Taylor. They are the right ages, have great chemistry on screen, are really sexy, and also have the ability to be really intense.

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

From the start, I’ve loved sexy vampires. The first vampire-y book I read was Interview with a Vampire by Anne Rice. I read most of Anne Rice’s series and have since loved reading a variety of awesome vampire characters, including Lothaire and the Wroth brothers from Kresley Cole’s Immortals After Dark.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

I would love to have been a flapper! What a great, liberating time for women. They were cutting their hair, shortening their dresses, and wearing make-up for the first time. I can just imagine how naughty they must have felt, but brimming with excitement as well. Then, there was the dancing. Whahoo! Kicking up their heels and showing their legs off, truly taking charge of their own sexuality for the first time.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

I have so many stories I started but never finished when I was in my 20’s. I would be all excited about writing something, never fully plot it out, and eventually lose interest in it only to start another story with a different idea. Someone needed to tell me to sit my butt down and finish. My husband is truly my hero in this department. As I wrote QUICKSILVER DREAMS, I had to spend a lot of time away from the family, alone, writing. Several times, over the course of the project, I walked away with frustration, but my husband told me that I absolutely needed to finish in order to make the time I’d taken away from them be meaningful. It worked.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

I would love to be one of Kresley Cole’s Valkyrie because they are powerful, warrior-like creatures with few weaknesses, but at the same time, beautiful and sexy. I love the combo.

Where do you write best?

I love sitting in the front room of my house, an old 1924 bungalow-style craftsman in a very cool college town, because it has windows everywhere and has a great view of the mountains. My laptop rests on my lap, my feet get kicked up on the coffee table, and I make sure that all gadgetry is within grasp, you know, my ipad, iphone and house phone, because getting up from the comfortable divot I’ve created on the sofa is just a bother.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

I read Twice as Hot by Gena Showalter and loved it. It’s the sequel to Playing with Fire which was about a young woman who stumbles unknowingly into some superpowers and a really hot guy. The main character is young and quippy, full of energy and attitude. The story continued with the same characters in the sequel, and they were again, having to save the world from other bad guys who had super powers. It was fun. It was a page turner. My goal for my work is to create that feeling of enjoyment.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

I am contemplating a sci-fi romance for the not too distant future. The idea of pushing into the future, really looking at what our current technology might lead to, see the potential for truly amazing inventions, and creating an action-packed, suspenseful story is keeping me looking ahead to what I will be writing once I’ve completed my Dreamwalker series. I don’t want to give too much away because this one is going to get written! (-;

Where can fans find you online?

www.facebook.com/Writer.D.Adele

www.twitter.com/DanubeAdele

www.danubeadele.wordpress.com

www.google.com/+DanubeAdele

www.goodreads.com/author/show/7340150.Danube_Adele

Quicksilver Dreams Banner 450 x 169

One comment on “Interview with Danube Adele

Leave a Reply

