Interview with Dena Garson

d79281b28d088e9134cfb52430fe9f1eTell us about your publishing journey…

When I became serious about wanting to write and publish a book, I joined a local romance writers group as well as Romance Writers of America. I attended two of the RWA national conventions and went to as many workshops as I could. I read books, I talked to authors and watched and listed to those around me. Basically, I learned as much as I could about the industry and the craft as I could all while beginning my own books.

After the fourth or fifth round of layoffs at the company I worked for, I was let go. I was out of work for about five months. During that time, I began working one-on-one with a senior member of the romance writers group I belonged to. She encouraged me to write magazine articles and short stories and to submit them for publication. Eventually I had a few articles published as well as two short stories.

After returning to work full-time, I continued to write and submit.

To this day, I remember selling my first book. I was sitting in a meeting and during a slow moment, checking my personal email on my phone. There was an email from an editor at Ellora’s Cave saying she was interested in purchasing a manuscript I had submitted a month or two earlier. I almost burst into tears. Someone sitting across from me in that meeting stopped and asked if I was okay. Needless to say, I was so excited, I wanted to shout that I had sold my first book!

Ellora’s Cave has been great to work with. I now have six books with them and plan to have many more!

What do you love about being an author?

Being able to do something productive with the pictures and characters that roll around in my head.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

Odysseus/Ulysses from Homer’s The Odyssey. I think I would only eat fruit and bread – anything easy because I’m sure I’d be fascinated by the stories he’d have (besides, I’m not sure about the hygiene for cooking meat back then *shudder*).

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?ghostlypersuasion_msr

I think Chris Hemsworth should play the lead in all of my books because, well, he’s just so… hmmm… yeah. *sigh*
As for the heroine in Ghostly Persuasion, if Emma Watson were a little older/more mature, I’d choose her. I like the touch of innocence she exudes but the adult content in the book makes me hesitate to say she’d be a good pick. Natalie Portman’s would be a good but that’s just too obvious to pair with Chris. So… hmmm. I guess I should just bite the bullet and play the heroine to Chris’ lead!! LOL

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Definitely sexy leads.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

The time just after Stonehenge was built because I want to know why it was built and what it was used for.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

I don’t know if it’s necessarily advice that I was never given, more that I didn’t listen to it or “get” it. That advice would be “to relax” – many of the things we get upset about in our teens and our 20’s really don’t matter in the long run. We don’t even remember a great many of those “my life is over” moments!

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

A pixie. I love the idea of being small and almost un-noticeable yet having some kind of magical abilities. Abilities that I could use for good or pure mischief.

Where do you write best?

I work on a laptop so I can take it almost anywhere. Sad to say, I have found myself most productive on my lunch hour at my day job! I think it’s because I have to be so technical or analytical during the day that my creative side just bursts out. It’s actually hard to stop at the end of the hour sometimes.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

Haunting Melody St. Claire by Ditter Kellen & Dawn Montgomery. I loved it. I met Ditter at my publisher’s convention last October (she’s a hoot!) and bought the book, but my reading time was nil until the last few weeks. There were several sexy interludes, romance and a nice twist. And it was a quick read (at least it was for me!).

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

I write romance (often with fantasy/paranormal elements) but I would probably turn to pure fantasy/paranormal/sci-fi. I read and write for the escape. My imagination tends to wander so it’s very natural for me to imagine things beyond our everyday life.

Where can fans find you online?

Buy Links for Ghostly Persuasion:
One comment on “Interview with Dena Garson

Leave a Reply

