Interview with Gail Bridges

Gail Bridges Author PhotoThank you for hosting me, I’m so excited to be here. My name is Gail Bridges, and I write erotic horror novels in the “Shivers” line at Ellora’s Cave. I am taken with the combination of erotica and horror in the same book – which is very difficult – and I truly feel that erotic horror is an up-and-coming trope that is soon to become hot. Inn on the Edge is my first erotic horror novel, a deliciously creepy story about a newlywed couple that is taken captive by a Sex Demon. I am currently hard at work on my second erotic horror novel, tentatively titled Over the Edge.

Tell us about your publishing journey…

Several years ago, I wrote a science fiction work with a female protagonist, and despite querying numerous agents I had yet to find a home for it. Somewhat discouraged, I decided to write a practice piece of erotica. It was something I knew I needed practice with, because I tended to shove my main characters behind closed doors when things threatened to get hot and heavy. I was uncomfortable writing sex, and I needed to address that shortcoming.

I went all out. I wrote the most explicit scenes I could imagine, and the result was a short story, Paint Job. I found to my utter shock that I liked writing erotica. I immediately submitted the story to Ellora’s Cave, where it was accepted for publication.

It is now a year and a half later, and I have two full-length novels with Ellora’s Cave. My erotic romance America’s Darlings came first. Then I wrote my erotic horror Inn on the Edge, which was published in December. It’s been an amazing whirlwind, to say the least.

What do you love about being an author?

Creating my own world. I love making up situations and making them come to life. For instance, America’s Darlings is the story of a new sport in the Summer Olympics: Sexual Gymnastics. I had so much fun figuring out what sex-as-a-sport would look like. There would have to be coaches, and rules, and performances…the works. I knew that such a thing would never happen in real life, but I didn’t care. I thoroughly enjoyed coming up with the story, and then peopling it with characters whose very happiness depends on getting a medal for athletic and beautiful lovemaking.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

The vampire from Octavia Butler’s “Fledgling”. She’s a young-old, dark-skinned vampire that is utterly unlike any vampire you’ll ever read about. For dinner, I would prepare beef stew with winter vegetables and make a loaf of homemade beer bread – and we would have a great conversation about demons.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

Oooh! Fun question. For Inn on the Edge… erotic horror…I would cast Justin Timberlake and Jennifer Lawrence as the main characters. For the Demon…I would cast Harrison Ford.

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?innontheedge_msr

That’s hard. I suppose I like the monster variety better – but only if you are allowed to see into the world of a vampire and understand why they are the way they are. Sometimes a monster only seems like a monster until you get to know him.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

I wouldn’t go back in time, I’d go into the future. What will this place be like in, say five hundred years? Or in five thousand? What will people be like?

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

I wish someone had told me that it doesn’t matter very much what other people think.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

I would want to be the type of demon in my own novel, Inn on the Edge.

Where do you write best?

I have two favorite spots. I have an office space I set up in our daughter’s old bedroom. I can see out into the street, which is great at times and distracting at others. For instance, the other day I was working on my new novel (tentatively titled Over the Edge) and I saw the neighbor’s dog wandering down the street. Not good. She went further and further from home. I couldn’t concentrate on my writing because I was worried. So I closed my laptop, went out, collected the dog, and walked her back home. It took me a good half hour to get back into the writing again.

My other favorite place to write is Zoka, a coffee shop in Seattle near my home. Love the place.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

I just finished reading “Hild” by Nicola Griffith. It is a mammoth-sized book. It’s a good thing I like mammoth-sized books! I loved it and was totally caught up in the dark-ages world that Griffith created.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

Science fiction. I read a lot of it, especially science fiction by women writers such as Octavia Butler. I feel that there is so much potential in the genre – the characters I conceive are familiar, with familiar dilemmas and issues. They’re familiar people that I put into unfamiliar situations, and that is very exciting to me.

Where can fans find you online?

Gail Bridges website:  http://www.gailbridges.com/

My blog: http://gailbridges.blogspot.com/

Twitter: @GailWBridges

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/gailbridges123/

Buy Links:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Gail-Bridges/e/B00HCRT8G6/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

Ellora’s Cave: http://www.ellorascave.com/inn-on-the-edge.html

Leave a Reply

