Interview with Shelley Munro

ShelleyMunro_Credit Princess CruisesTell us about your publishing journey…

2014 marks ten years for me as a published author. I’ve always been a big reader and as a teenager decided I’d like to write my own books. My reading tastes centered on romance and mysteries, and this seemed the logical place to start. Writing turned out to be a lot harder than I thought, and it took me several attempts to really get started. The years passed. I woke up one morning and thought, if I don’t start now, I’ll never become a writer. That was the official start of my writing journey. I wrote for six years before I sold my first manuscript, and I haven’t looked back.

What do you love about being an author?

Oh, that’s easy. I love being my own boss and the person responsible for the decisions. It’s very cool spinning tales and getting paid for the result.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

I’ve been going through a historical romance faze, in both my reading and television viewing. Last year a new television show started down here in New Zealand, which was called Miss Fisher’s Mystery Murders. The show is based on the Phryne Fisher mysteries written by Australian Kerry Greenwood and is set during the 1920s. The main character is, of course, Phryne Fisher. She wears the most amazing clothes, meets very interesting people and she’s not prim and proper at all.assassin200x300

We’d drink champagne or cocktails and eat delicious canapes of deviled eggs, vegetable crudites, stuffed mushrooms, olives and salmon mousse while we discussed Phryne’s latest case. And, when Phryne isn’t looking, I’m going to steal into her room and steal some of her clothes and hats. You won’t tell, will you?

If I were visiting someone in the paranormal world, I’d love to chat with Buffy. She had a very interesting life.
If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

You know, I think I’d go with unknowns to cast as Saber and his brothers in my Middlemarch Mates shapeshifter series. I can’t think of many actors with black hair and green eyes, and I need five of them! For the female roles, I’d start looking down this end of the world in Australia and New Zealand since Scarlet Woman and the rest of the books in the series are all set in New Zealand.

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

I prefer them as sexy leads, but generally we need a few blood hungry monsters to create reader interest. Can I say both?

ScarletWoman200x300If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

I’ve already mentioned I’d like to go back to the 1920s to visit with Phryne Fisher, but I also enjoy 18th century England. They were quite naughty back then before Regency and Victorian people came up with all their pesky rules.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

I’ve been very lucky with life advice, and even better, I listened to my parents when they told me to study and work hard and save some of my money every week. There is one thing—I wish I’d known more about different career possibilities. When I left school I went into banking, and I’ve worked in offices and as an accountant. While I love writing and being an author, my other passion is travel. I wish someone had suggested something in the travel field as an option for me to consider.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

I’d like to be a feline shapeshifter. They can shift any time they want and aren’t tied to the moon. They’re also very graceful and pretty to look at, yet they’re powerful killers too and capable of defending themselves.

Where do you write best?

I do all my best writing in a café. I have several favorite cafes where the staff know me very well. I can’t get up and wander around like I do at home, so I’m usually more productive.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?peepingtom200x300

During the last six weeks I’ve been judging books for the Romance Writers of America RITA contest, so I can’t talk about those. Now that I’ve finished reading my judging packet, I intend to start Dragon Awakened by Jaime Rush. This is the beginning of a new series, and written by a new-to-me author. I’m looking forward to it since I haven’t read many books featuring dragons.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

I enjoy writing paranormal romances, and I’m working on a new series now called Middlemarch Capture. I’ve combined paranormal and sci-fi with this new series and have feline shapeshifters. Cats in space!
Since I’ve been published for ten years, I’ve experimented with most genres that interest me and have published paranormal, contemporary, sci-fi and historical romances. At the moment I’m concentrating on my paranormal/sci-fi blends.

Where can fans find you online?

WEBSITE: http://www.shelleymunro.com

BLOG: http://www.shelleymunro.com/blog

FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/ShelleyMunroAuthor

GOODREADS: http://www.goodreads.com/ShelleyMunro 

PINTEREST: http://www.pinterest.com/ShelleyMunro

TWITTER: http://www.twitter.com/ShelleyMunro

AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE: http://www.amazon.com/Shelley-Munro/e/B001JOWGNK

NEWSLETTER: http://eepurl.com/A2xfH

6 comments on “Interview with Shelley Munro

  1. Pingback: Taste of Kiwi: Blog of Author Shelley Munro » Blog Archive » I’ve Been Interviewed!

  2. Great interview, and very sound advice looking back. I would have to agree… wish someone told me I didn’t have to be so career driven and that it was all about the success, but rather enjoying what I did…:)

    • I think sometimes we’re so focused on the end goal we forget to enjoy the journey. Not just in writing, but in lots of everyday stuff.

    • Thanks, Mary. I think being a shifter would come with benifits, but there would probably be a few downsides too.

Leave a Reply

