Book Review: No Refuge by Annie Nicholas

norefuge333x500-199x300Synopsis:

Hunted to near extinction by an alien race called the Ko, my people have run from Earth and drifted so far among the stars we can’t remember the way back. We live everywhere, but call nowhere home. The Ko want us erased from existence and memory. They don’t even want our DNA in the space dust. Humans disguise themselves as other alien species and hide in plain sight. It’s the only way we can survive.

I believe in the myth of Earth. I’ve even discovered a bona fide book written in the dead language of my people. My man, Brody, dreams of a secret human colony. He’s searched for years, hunting any rumor we’ve run across, and finally he’s made contact. Usually, he’s the one grounding me to station and keeping my head out of the atmosphere. Time for me to return the favor…that is, if I can ditch the Ko who’ve discovered me, thanks to my incessant artifact-hunting. If we don’t make our rendezvous, and the Ko don’t kill me, Brody just might…

About the Author: annie

Annie Nicholas writes paranormal romance with a twist. She has courted vampires, hunted with shifters, and slain a dragon’s ego all with the might of her pen. Riding the wind of her imagination, she travels beyond the restraints of reality and shares them with anyone wanting to read her stories. Mother, daughter, and wife are some of the other hats she wears while hiking through the hills and dales of her adopted state of Vermont.

Annie writes for Samhain Publishing, Carina Press, and Lyrical Press.

Website: www.annienicholas.com

Blog:  www.annienicholas.blogspot.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Annie-Nicholas#!/pages/Annie-Nicholas/162716537103705

Twitter: https://twitter.com/annienicholas

 Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3132972.Annie_Nicholas

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/annienicholas/

Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/yt8Kv

My Review:

I’ve always had a healthy respect for sci-fi, the amount of effort that goes into building alien worlds, characters and customs is immense. I’ve not read much sci-fi though, although sat through a fair amount of TV and film. All that said, I find it pretty easy to spot a good book in this genre, and Annie has done it again! Reading a story that happens in a world that’s epically removed from our own (this includes sci-fi and high fantasy) can be difficult, so I can almost instantly tell how comfortable I am when reading a book in this genre. If I’m having to make notes (mental or long hand) about the details, then I’m really not going to enjoy it, it turns into a kind of long piece of homework. No Refuge was not like this at all; although it is very much sci-fi, it makes you feel comfortable, introduces the info you need as and when you need it, and gives you characters that you really feel for.

From a writer’s perspective, it was written incredibly well, and the plot moved at a fast pace that drew me in quickly and didn’t let me go till the end. The idea that humans are now an endangered species, hunted to the brink of extinction to the edges of the galaxy, was both tragic and kind of ironic considering our blase attitude to what we are doing to certain species on Earth. everything for a good story was present here: plot, theme, characters and originality.

The front cover is okay, but kind of lets the epic-ness of the book down a little. I’m a firm believer in how much front covers can sell a book, and feel that this could do with a bit f sprucing to really do the book the justice.

Overall, I’d give No Refuge 5 out 5 stars – if you’re missing Star Trek and Firefly and want a dash of romance, then look no further.

No refuge Banner 851 x 315

Leave a Reply

