Interview with Teresa Roblin

TeresaRoblin_HocusPocus800Tell us about your publishing journey…

I started writing in my early forties, but I’ve always had an active imagination. One elementary teacher wrote in my report card, “Teresa has a tendency to daydream in class. She should pay more attention.”

I haven’t changed a bit!

In 2000, I started writing my first book, Hocus Pocus, and within seven months it was completed. My second book, Now You See It . . . , a year later. Naïve daydreamer that I am, I thought this is it, I’m going to get published. Optimistic, I entered my first book in a contest and placed last in the paranormal category.

So what did I do? I joined RWA, my local chapter, took writing courses, on-line workshops, talked to other writers and joined a critique group. By 2004, I was finally placing second and third in contests.

Now, everyone can read my books and share in my musings and understand why I usually walk around with a grin on my face.

What do you love about being an author?

The things that I love are:

1. Wearing my pajamas to work.
2. Getting fan mail from my readers and learning that I’ve somehow made their day, made them laugh, and made them forget their troubles for just a little while.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

I would invite The Cat In The Hat – he’s always getting into trouble, never gets blamed for his disasters and lands on his feet.

What would we eat? Desserts, desserts, and more desserts. (It’s one of my food groups.)

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads? TeresaRoblin_NowYouSeeIt800

I’d reunite the cast from The Proposal with and extra funny lady.
1. Sarah played by Sandra Bullock.
2. Anthony played by Ryan Reynolds
3. Aunt Lilly played by Betty White
4. Emily played by Doris Roberts (Marie Barone on Everyone Loves Raymond)

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Sexy leads hands down!!!

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

I’d go back to the Gilded Age, which occurred after the Civil War and before 1913. This period saw great economic growth; amazing discoveries and inventions were made. When hardworking people prospered and were able to pursue their dreams and make great things happen.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Believe in yourself, because if you don’t — no one else has to.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

I wouldn’t mind being a faery, because just like a witch, they have magical powers.

Where do you write best?

I write best in my front room, away from the rest of the family. I shut the doors, turn on the fireplace and immerse myself in my make-believe worlds.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

Last book I read was Into the Dreaming by Karen Marie Moning. Absolutely amazing!!! Steaming hot! Tension held tight from the beginning to the end – a real page-turner.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

I would probably give a historic/fantasy a go. Having kickass heroines sent back in time and watching the two main characters overcome their differences (want to kill each other) and watching the hero help the heroine adjust to a new time is delicious.

Where can fans find you online?

You can reach me at teresaroblin@rogers.com
I’m also on Twitter and Goodreads. (I’m just learning the ropes and I haven’t got a clue what I’m doing)
To buy my books readers can go to my website at www.teresa-roblin.com
Or Amazon:
Hocus Pocus
Leave a Reply

