Interview with Sherilee Gray

7762587Tell us about your publishing journey…

It all started with my sister getting me hooked on romance novels after the birth of my first child. My first writing attempts were not great, and after entering a writing competition with my not so shiny new novel, I discovered I had a lot to learn about the craft of writing. Also, I’d always struggled at school. I’m a hands-on kind of girl. I learn from doing, and I need a lot of examples before something sinks in. So first I had to go back to basics, and I mean basics. It’s been a long road, from that first ms to getting Lone Wolf’s Captive accepted was close to five years. But in all that time I never gave up, I never stopped working towards my goal. When I received an email from Kate Cuthbert at Escape Publishing to say she wanted my story, I burst into tears. Nothing will ever beat that feeling.

What do you love about being an author?

That I can work from home doing what I love. I also love that I’m home for my kids. Writing is hard, the hardest thing I’ve ever done, but it still doesn’t feel like a real job. I mean, my job is to let my crazy imagination run wild. How cool is that?

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat? 

Acheron from Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series. I looove him! He doesn’t really like to eat, but maybe I could get him drunk on Sprite and see if he’d shrink me (like he did his wife Tory) and take me on a tour of a miniaturized replica of Atlantis!

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

If I could combine Aiden Turner from the BBC version of Being Human and Jason Momoa from Game of Thrones, weird combo I know. I think you’d have my big, tortured alpha wolf, Fletcher Stone.

For Delaney? That’s a little harder. Maybe Zoe Deschanel, but with dark eyes!

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Sexy leads every time.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

As long as I could come back and forth, yanno, for dental care and chocolate. I like the idea of medieval Scotland. Who wouldn’t want a massive, claymore wielding, Scottish warrior to carry you off to his castle?

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Ignore the negative Nancy’s and naysayers. I’m sure I was given this advice as a kid, but it takes age and wisdom before you realize that what other people think of you isn’t your problem. They’re gonna think what they want regardless. Spend your time and energy on those people that love and support you!

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

Today? I’d have to say a shifter! They live longer, they’re stronger than humans, and they can change forms…oh! And they’re all hot! In my mind they are anyway!

Where do you write best?

At the desk in the corner of my bedroom, or on the couch in the living room.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it? download

Reapers Property by Joanna Wylde. I love an emotional ride, and I love me an alpha male. This series is chock full of them. These guys are alpha to the extreme. I know not everyone likes that, but books like this are my current drug of choice.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

Contemporary. I have a few ideas and a few half-finished stories that I will get back to one day. There’s a lot to love about the genre, and it’s what I mainly read when I’m not reading Paranormal.

Where can fans find you online?

Leave a Reply

