Interview with Electra Shepherd

electraTell us about your publishing journey…

I (Electra) am actually a pseudonym for an award-winning, bestselling author, so my publishing journey is quite different from hers. She wrote a bunch of books and got a bunch of rejections before she got published, but I, Electra, am much more talented (shh, don’t tell anyone). I wrote my first novel, LOVE MACHINE, during a hurricane. The power went out, but my laptop was still charged up. As is normal in a power outage, I started thinking about all the handy things electricity can be used for. Lights…refrigerators…muscular, blue, well-hung sexually active robots…

Thus LOVE MACHINE was born, which was the launch of my BODY ELECTRIC series of erotic science fiction romantic comedy novels, about robots, humans, and hot lovin’. I sent the manuscript to Ellora’s Cave and they wanted it and I was thrilled and kept on writing more.

What do you love about being an author?

Two words: Robot Servants.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

I would find it fascinating to have dinner with HAL 9000. Of course homicidal computers don’t really eat, so I would have to eat all the dehydrated and reconstituted lobster thermidore and cherry cheesecake myself.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

I’ve casted the whole BODY ELECTRIC series in my mind, but the only really interesting thing is that I used Tom Hiddleston as the lead for two different books. In MAN OR MACHINE, he’s a bitter computer genius hacker human who spends a lot of the book tied to a bed, and in the sequel HARDWARE, he’s a bald green robot with an enormous libido and no emotions. I think I am possibly the only person who has given Tom Hiddleston such diametrically opposed roles in a single series, and therefore Tom Hiddleston should probably come and live with me in my house forever. Please.

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?400000000000001005105_s4

Don’t really care. I have this super-flexible titanium vampire-proof suit, see. Try to bite through THAT, vampires! Ha! Suckers!

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

I quite liked last Tuesday.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

SKYNET: Not A Good Idea.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

I would be a female Smaug. (Smaugette?) I would loll around on my unimaginable riches humming ‘Material Girl’ and burn the buns off of any hobbit who came near wanting to steal my stuff.

Where do you write best?

Evidently, in the middle of a hurricane.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

I constantly reread THE HITCHHIKERS’ GUIDE TO THE GALAXY trilogy. I really really love those books, but I can’t help thinking that Marvin the Paranoid Android would have been a lot happier if someone had offered to have sex with him.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

You mean there are other genres out there other than erotic science fiction romantic comedy?

Where can fans find you online?

My website is http://www.electrashepherd.com, my Facebook is https://www.facebook.com/ElectraShepherd and I’m on Twitter as @ElectraShepherd.

Leave a Reply

