Interview with Auralee Wallace

8119821Tell us about your publishing journey…

My path to publication wasn’t exactly paved with golden bricks – wow, that was a lot of “p” alliteration for one sentence. I call Sidekick my first real novel because I didn’t fully commit to my previous attempts. For a long time, I had the mindset that because I loved books, I could write them. Lots of early rejection taught me that this wasn’t necessarily the case. So after my third child was born, I decided to get serious. I read every book on writer’s craft I could get my hands on before I even thought about trying again. It was after all that, I began to write Sidekick. When I finished, I thought agents would be clamoring to sign me on. I was quickly disabused of that notion. While I got a few timid bites, ultimately, the consensus seemed to be that the whole “superhero” thing would be a tough sell. For a while I wallowed in despair, and then a blogger friend of mine suggested I submit directly to publishers. In particular, she sent me the link for Escape Publishing. The submission guidelines stated that they welcomed manuscripts that were “rule-breaking” and “cross-genre.” Well, Sidekick was definitely both of those. I joyfully signed my contract not long after.

What do you love about being an author?

I love that I get to spend time exploring my imagination, and I don’t have to feel guilty about it. I’ve always had a pretty rich fantasy life, and now I get to put it to work. As an added bonus, I can now sneak in a nap anywhere and pass it off as brainstorming.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

Oh, this one has been giving me trouble. The food isn’t the problem. The food is never the problem. I would be eating sushi. You see, I love sushi, and I haven’t had it in a while. I suppose I really should link my dinner choice to my dinner guest, but, as I just mentioned, I love sushi, and I’m pretty uncompromising when it comes to food.

As for the company, well, therein lies the difficulty. My first thought was Harry Potter because Harry Potter is cool. But I think Harry might be a little shy and I’m definitely a little shy, so that might make for an awkward dinner. So I then considered more romantic characters like Mr. Rochester and Heathcliff, but I figured their overwhelming broodiness might take the shine off my happy sushi. Plus, if I’m going to go out to dinner with any man, it’s going be my husband. We have three small children. We never get to go out to dinner.

So all that being said, I’m not really sure who I would…Oh wait! I’ve got it! Lula from Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series. She’s fun, she loves food, and she would do most of the talking.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads? sidekick_final-2

This question often haunts me in the wee hours of the morning. I’m not sure why. I do have real life issues that require mulling, but this imaginary quandary is particularly good at elbowing its way to the forefront.

Okay, for Bremy, sometimes I think Jennifer Lawrence would do a wonderful job with the humor, but I’m not sure if she’s the look I have always had in mind. Teresa Palmer maybe?

Dark Ryder for me has always been a mix of Grace Jones and Iman with maybe just a smidge of Rhianna thrown in. So yeah, that’s not really an answer to the question unless you know a gene splicer, but that’s all I’ve got.

For Pierce? I’m completely lost. Maybe readers will one day send me suggestions.

If you had a super power, what would it be?

So many choices. I want to fly, but I also really want to be invisible – and yes, I would absolutely do creepy things with that power. There’s also telekinesis to consider. That would be pretty great. Then I wouldn’t have to get off the couch right now to let my cat in who is on the other side of the sliding door giving me a really filthy look. Okay, I’m rambling. Oh man, I should probably pick something cool and obscure to show that I’m cool and obscure too, like…like…absolutely nothing is coming to mind right now, which means I have completely outed myself as both uncool and obvious. I should have just said the flying thing.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

These are horribly good questions…questions, which are torturing me…horribly. I’m feeling a lot of pressure, like if I give the wrong answer, I’m stuck with it forever, and then, when I finally find the genie in the magic lamp, well, he’s going to hold me to my original answer, and I’m going to be smacking myself on the forehead saying why didn’t you choose Ancient Rome or seventeenth century Venice? You idiot! Okay…okay…I’m rambling again. This hurts me, but I’m going to have to choose the streets of Victorian London. I’d like to go and walk the cobblestones at night in the fog…but with a mask because I know the air quality was really bad…and maybe a bodyguard.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Feel the fear and do it anyway.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

Boy, right back to the hard ones. Oh! I want to be a Time Lord. Wait, Doctor Who is an alien, not a supernatural creature. Shoot! That would have taken care of my whole time machine anxiety too. I’d say vampire – sexy, powerful, bloody – but it feels like everybody is a vampire these days. I’d love to run through a forest like a werewolf, but I don’t love dog smells. Now a witch would be cool. I always used to play witch by the creek in my backyard when I was little. I’m not great with details though, and spell-work seems highly detailed. I also worry I might go mad with power and turn random people into toads. This is tough. I give up. I’ll just choose a unicorn. Yes, make me a unicorn.

Where do you write best?

I have always thought I would write best in a cavernous office with built-in floor to ceiling bookshelves on every wall. In it there would be antique velvet furniture, Persian rugs, and a stone fireplace with maybe an Irish setter or a Hellhound sleeping in front of it. I would also have this gargantuan desk that looks like it belongs in front of a throne, and when people needed me, they would have to skulk into the room, cap in hand, and stand in front of it, waiting silently until I decided to look up. And when I finally did – look up, that is – my fountain pen would be hovering over the brilliant bit of prose I was working on, and my one eyebrow would be arched (that sounds weird – I do have two eyebrows, but I would only arch one of them) with both question and annoyance. Oh yeah, that’s my office vision. That would be awesome.

I write at my kitchen table. Bits of cereal are often stuck to my kitchen table.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

Actually, the last thing I read was the first installment of Jonathan Janz’s Savage Species, Night Terrors. I haven’t read any horror like that since I was a teenager. It was…really…wow. Let me put it this way, if Night Terrors were a restaurant, I’d call it The Grotesquery. Yet, I can’t help but smile when I think about it. I’m pretty sure that makes me a bad person.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

All of them. I have never met a genre I didn’t like. I refuse to choose.

Where can fans find you online?

Website: auraleewallace.com

Facebook: Auralee Wallace Author

Twitter:@AuraleeWallace

2 comments on “Interview with Auralee Wallace

Leave a Reply

