Interview with Ainslie Hogarth

ainsliewebsitepicTell us about your publishing journey…

It actually only started about four years ago. I’d written the first sixty or so pages of THE LONELY, submitted it as part of my application to a graduate program in Creative Writing at The University of Auckland, and finished it there for my thesis. I was very lucky to have a cousin who knows an agent, and even more lucky that that agent decided to take me on as a client. Then, ya know, they did their thing and that was that.

What do you love about being an author?

Not having to wear pants all day if I don’t want to.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

Probably Humbert Humbert from Nabokov’s Lolita. No character has ever made me laugh harder than Humbert Humbert. He’d probably want to go to McDonalds and lurk around the Playplace so in that case I’d order a quarter pounder with cheese combo and a diet Coke.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

I am finding this question impossible to answer. Plus I don’t wanna give people a particular person to think about when they’re reading the book. So, I’m sorry, but I don’t know!

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Probably a combination of both. Like The Lost Boys vampires, how they’re pretty hot when they’re not in kill mode, but then become monsters.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

Maybe the late 80s or early 90s so I could see some now broken up bands in their prime and make myself rich with that new thing called the Internet.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

This is advice I guess I got pretty early on but didn’t really understand till I was older, but just, not to give a shit what anyone thinks. I probably would have started writing seriously a lot sooner if I wasn’t worried about what everyone would think.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?TheLonelyCoverFinal

I don’t know which creature, but I know I wouldn’t want so much power that I’d feel obligated to become a superhero. That whole “with great power comes great responsibility” line from Spider-Man — who wants that??

Where do you write best?

In my room, at my desk. Wherever that room and desk may be at the time. I either need total silence or some kind of super loud, lyric-less music, so I can’t really do it at a coffee shop or something where I’d be tempted to eavesdrop on other people’s conversations.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

I read The Ruins by Scott Smith. I’ve been binging on horror books because my next book that’s coming out (September 2015 with Flux) is a horror novel. The Ruins was cool. It’s very sparsely written so when gross stuff happens, it’s EXTRA gross and when scary stuff happens, it’s EXTRA scary. And there are no chapters so it’s just like, a slow build of scary without any breaks. The movie is actually really good too.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

I’m still not totally sure what my genre is. Or even my market, really. The books that I’ve sold are both YA but I’ve written adult fiction too.

Where can fans find you online?

Well, you can visit my website at ainsliehogarth.com, or you can read my infrequent tweets at @AinslieEm

 

 

One comment on “Interview with Ainslie Hogarth

Leave a Reply

