Interview with Denise A Agnew

19820Tell us about your publishing journey…

My publishing journey is a long one. I’ve been writing since I was fourteen, but in ’91 my husband encouraged me to write for publication. It wasn’t until 1999, though, that I found a home in epublishing with Hard Shell Word Factory for a few years and another publisher that dissolved after a short time. In 2002 I hooked up with Ellora’s Cave. I’m also published with Samhain Publishing, Liquid Silver Books and I self-publish books as well. During all that time I also had three agents and tried the traditional publishing route. It took me a while to realize that I love writing books that aren’t in the box. Now I’m fully committed to a small press and self-publishing. It allows me to write about anything I want, whenever I want.

What do you love about being an author?

The excitement of a story idea that really blows my skirt up. I need the creative outlet, and I think I was born to be a writer.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

Holy cow. That’s a really good question because there would be so many I’d want to talk with. Probably Dean Koontz’s Odd Thomas. Pizza would definitely be on the menu.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as thedarykhunter_200 leads?

The question is which book? Hmmm…well if it was one of my Ellora’s Cave books I’d pick Daryk Cravi
ng. I’d cast Chris Hemsworth as Marc Gampia and Camila Belle or Scarlett Johansson as Aknada. Probably Scarlett would be a better choice because she could portray a warrior woman I think.

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

I’ve only written four vampire novels, and I prefer them as sexy leads.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

I’ve always been fascinated with the 1890’s. The clothes have always intrigued me. My wedding dress was a combination of 1890’s and Edwardian wrapped into one. The 1890’s through to the first World War were amazing times for progress, for advancements.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

That half the stuff I found so paralyzing when I was a kid and a teenager weren’t worth the fear.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

I’ve always thought gargoyles were creepy and fascinating. :) Perhaps because they were placed on buildings to drive away evil spirits yet they are so evil looking themselves. It is a beauty and the beast sort of thing. To be the beast that everyone fears yet the beast is really the one scaring away the evil.

Where do you write best? 

These days it is on my couch darykcraving_200with my laptop.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

Jessica Scott’s Back To You. I loved it. It was unique with the hero and heroine being married. But the story is so much more than that. It’s obvious that Jessica’s own insight as a military officer gave these stories an authenticity few other romance authors can inject into a story like this. In a market that is heavily saturated with SEAL stories, I loved and appreciated this novel because it is different and not same-old same-old. It is gritty, heart-wrenching and affirming. Jessica knows what she’s talking about. As the wife of a retired army officer I recognized and understood this story from that perspective. I recommend all her books.


If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

Horror. I already write a lot of different genres within romance, but horror would be my next preference.

Where can fans find you online?

Daryk Hunter buy links:
Sudden Heat buy links:
Leave a Reply

