Interview with Jennifer Leeland

Dark PastTell us about your publishing journey…

I always loved to write stories, but I didn’t take any of it very seriously. When my Dad died in 2002, I came across a manuscript he’d written and discovered that he’d never submitted it. He never thought he was good enough. I decided that I was going to try and get my stories published, no matter what. For him.

I love romance, especially romantic suspense and even today, my stories usually have dead bodies cropping up. In 2005, I finally submitted my very first manuscript. Six months later, I received my first rejection. Luckily for me, I had met other authors on the same journey and started to really grow as a writer. At the time, epublishing was relatively new and exciting so I jumped in with both feet. In 2006, I signed my first contracts with two different publishers and I never looked back.

I did find that my favorite books to write were erotic romance, especially with BDSM elements, and I’ve loved writing my smut ever since. I think the best part about my journey had been the other people-authors, editors and readers-I’ve met along the way.

What do you love about being an author?

I love creating the characters and stories so a reader can escape for a while. Books have always been my refuge and to be able to provide that for others is the best thing in the world. However, I don’t create in a vacuum. Hanging out with other authors is one of the perks of the job. For example; After reading Joey W Hill books for years, I got to get to know her when I was involved in putting an online workshop together at the writer’s forum Romance Divas. It was such a privilege to talk to her and she is one of the most generous authors in the business. I don’t think I would have had the nerve to contact her except as an author. All the great interactions I’ve had with authors like Kate Pearce, Eden Bradley, Crystal Jordan and Melissa Blue has been the best thing about being an author.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

Oh, definitely Minerva Dobbs from Jennifer Crusie’s “Bet Me”. First of all, that chick is hilarious and she’d be a blast to hang out with. And second, she’d understand my love of Krispy Kreme doughnuts and wouldn’t judge me. Being Minerva, I think we’d have to go out for Italian food and load up on carbs.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

Ooooh! This is a tough one! “Dark Past” is my erotic science fiction book and I think Chris O’Donnell would play Bradley “Bud” Masterson perfectly. He’s an actor that can play the cold, bitter guy that Bud is outwardly and yet reveal the vulnerability beneath. I love Chris O’Donell in NCIS Los Angeles. For the female role, I think I’d love Cote de Pablo. It’s hard not to picture her as Agent Ziva David from NCIS, but I think Cote could play Julianna easily.

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Oh, definitely sexy leads. Of course, I’ve been spoiled by Joey W. Hill’s vampires, and hers are HOT.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

I can’t go to the future? LOL! I think I’d love to go back to Ancient Rome. There aren’t too many eras where women were able to speak and be free. The Roman Era is the best AND I would immediately travel to the Alexandria library. That is one of the things from history that I would love to see. So I’d have to go back to Rome before it was destroyed.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

What other people think of me is none of my business. (I was WAY too worried about what other people thought of me for way too long.)

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

I’d be an empath. Preferably a psychic empath.

Where do you write best?

In my chair at home at 4am Those are my best writing times.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

The last book I read was “Her Insatiable Scot” by Melissa Blue (which comes out February 20th). I got to read the book in advance (one the best parts of being an author) and it’s as good as the first one (“Under His Kilt). Melissa writes some of my favorite contemporary romance and “Her Insatiable Scot” is SMOKIN’ HOT! It’s an awesome story and I love Tristan, the hero.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

I’d love to write an action thriller with the Knights Templar or something like that. One of my favorite authors Matthew Reilly, who writes some fantastic action stuff. Of course, I don’t know that I’d be able to keep the romance out of it. LOL!

Where can fans find you online?

http://jenniferleeland.com

https://twitter.com/JenniferLeeland

Leave a Reply

