Interview with Suz DeMello

sue venice maskWhat do you love about being an author?

I love to go to work in my bathrobe and zebra-striped slippers. And now that I am fairly well-established, I love the lack of conflict and stress in my life–do keep in mind that I used to be a trial attorney. I love to be able to dream happy, sexy, loving dreams and get paid!

And, okay, I love royalties! I call myself the Queen of Passive Income.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

That’s a tough one. I’m not religious–not at all–but I’d choose to have dinner with Jesus, from the King James Bible. I bet he’s fascinating. I imagine we’d eat loaves and fishes :)

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

Which book? My latest from EC Aeon, Queen’s Quest, features a hero modeled on Viggo Mortensen. As for the heroine–not sure who’d play Audryn. She’s pretty special. I think Jennifer Lawrence.

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Sexy leads of course! That’s what I write in my Highland Vampires series.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?queensquest_msr

I wouldn’t go back but forward. I love history but wouldn’t like to live in a time without readily available, clean hot and cold running water, antibiotics and computers.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Shed fear.
This is mostly based on my belief system about life and death–I believe that we are beings composed of energy (actually, everything is energy–you, me, the computer I’m writing on, your puppy and so on).

Thus, we never really die, so there’s nothing to be afraid of.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

That’s a tough one! Overall I’d say I’d like to be some species of fairy. They seem to be able to do so much, depending upon how they’re written.

Where do you write best?

At my desk. If I get stuck, a walk shakes my thoughts loose.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

I reread Stephen King’s On Writing and may love it even more than the first time. Part fascinating memoir and part writing primer, there’s something here for everyone. What a great guy and of course a fabulous writer.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

I’m lucky because romance can encompass so much–I’ve written everything from the dirtiest erotica to sweet, from stories set a thousand years in the past to novels that take place thirty thousand years in the future. I’ve written dark vampire stories and lighthearted, sexy romantic comedy.

If I wrote anything else, though, I’d write non-fiction political discourse and commentary. Or maybe cookbooks.

Where can fans find you online?

 http://www.suzdemello.com http://www.facebook.com/sueswift, and visit her group https://www.facebook.com/redhotauthorscafe

Leave a Reply

