Book Review: The Asylum for Fairy Tale Creatures by Sebastian Gregory

cover49675-mediumSynopsis:

Long ago, in a land where imagination meets the darkest nightmares, they built the asylum. Surrounded by a forest of thorns, it holds the most twisted minds in the fairy tale kingdom: a terrible collection of evil creatures and forgotten souls. Imprisoned within its walls, they are doomed to spend forever after telling their tales… and serving as a warning to others.

About the Author:

Read my interview with Sebastian Gregory here:

My Review:

Every now and then you come across a book that blows you away, this is one of those books. I loved the concept and when I started reading, I soon realised that the prose matched the story, as did the storyline.

It reminded me of a scarier Angela Carter with a combination of a traditional fairy tale and a ghost story that you’d hear sat round a camp fire.

From a writer’s perspective, there were a few errors here and there, although this was because I had an ARC rather than the finished article. The POV was not what I’d normally go for, but it worked well here and didn’t affect my enjoyment of the book. It was dark, gross and frightening (3 of my favourite things) There was even one line in there that made me go cold!

The front cover is great and very attractive – with the right marketing force behind it this could do really well for the author.

Overall, I’d give this book 5 out 5 stars – you have to read it, just do it in daylight!

Leave a Reply

