Book Review: Perfected by Kate Jarvik Birch

PERFECTED 1600x2400Synopsis:

Perfection comes at a price. As soon as the government passed legislation allowing humans to be genetically engineered and sold as pets, the rich and powerful rushed to own beautiful girls like Ella. Trained from birth to be graceful, demure, and above all, perfect, these “family companions” enter their masters’ homes prepared to live a life of idle luxury. Ella is happy with her new role as playmate for a congressman’s bubbly young daughter, but she doesn’t expect Penn, the congressman’s handsome and rebellious son. He’s the only person who sees beyond the perfect exterior to the girl within. Falling for him goes against every rule she knows…and the freedom she finds with him is intoxicating. But when Ella is kidnapped and thrust into the dark underworld lurking beneath her pampered life, she’s faced with an unthinkable choice. Because the only thing more dangerous than staying with Penn’s family is leaving…and if she’s unsuccessful, she’ll face a fate far worse than death. For fans of Keira Cass’s Selection series and Lauren DeStefano’s Chemical Garden series, Perfected is a chilling look at what it means to be human, and a stunning celebration of the power of love to set us free, wrapped in a glamorous—and dangerous—bow.

About the Author: KateJarvikBirchbiopic

Kate Jarvik Birch is a visual artist, author, playwright, daydreamer, and professional procrastinator. As a child, she wanted to grow up to be either a unicorn or mermaid. Luckily, being a writer turned out to be just as magical. Her essays and short stories have been published in literary journals including Indiana Review and Saint Ann’s Review. She lives in Salt Lake City, Utah with her husband and three kids. To learn more visit www.katejarvikbirch.com 

 

My Review:

I do enjoy a healthy dollop of Dystopia! Perfected certainly filled the brief there. It was an interesting idea along the same lines as the Chemical Garden series, only in my opinion written much better.

The plot wasn’t so intricate that you needed a notepad and pen to keep up, but enough to keep you reading – it did strike the perfect balance there.

From a writer’s perspective, it was incredibly well written, and had obviously enjoyed the touch of a good editor (that can make all the difference, its not just up to us authors you know!) and it really did make me think – could this actually happen? The answer I came up with was, not right now, but maybe in the future when we’ve forgotten our morales and the rich have ultimate power (OK, they kind of do now, but at least they hide it most of the time) To have what was effectively a ‘living doll’ to play with and dress up, isn’t as far fetched as you might think (especially if you’ve seen some of those cringe worthy Channel 4 shows in the UK)  

The twists were a little easy for me to work out, however I had to remind myself that this is a YA book – so wouldn’t have been as shocking or as visceral with its plot turns as an adult or even a NA book would have been.

The main question that I’d like to pose here is that –  if I had the money, would I have a ‘pet’? The answer is…no. But not for the morale reasons you’d think, I can barely look after myself, let alone someone else I had feed a special diet to, dress and house!  It all seems a bit like hard work to me. Plus, I want those gowns myself!

The front cover is very pretty and attractive – its actually what made me pick it in the first place – yes I am that shallow!

Overall I’d give Perfected 5 out 5 stars – a solid read for both teen and adult readers alike – now once you’ve read it, let me know…would you have a pet? Or would you be one? 

 

Perfected-tour banner

Leave a Reply

