Interview with Jane Tara

IMG_8535Tell us about your publishing journey…

It’s been a long and interesting journey for me. I started as a playwright, and won a few awards, which got my plays published. Then I had some children’s picture books published. (To date I’ve had about two dozen published.) I wrote my first novel, Forecast while I was living in New York, and it was published by Dorchester. Over the years I’ve written for TV, magazines and newspapers. In 2009 I started my own boutique publishing company called Itchee Feet, which produces children’s travel books.

When Dorchester went bust, I got the rights to Forecast back and contacted Momentum. They republished Forecast, and have since published Trouble Brewing, The Happy Endings Book Club, and now Hamlet’s Ghost.

Momentum is a good fit for me. It really is about gaining momentum as a writer.

 What do you love about being an author?

I love the solitude. Or at least, I love it when I get it. In my house it’s rare.

I love those moments when I’m writing and I’m totally in the world I’m writing about. There are other times when I feel like I’m smacking my head against a wall, so it’s wonderful when it flows.

Another thing I love about being an author is hearing from readers. I love hearing that I’ve made someone smile.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

Sei Shonagon who wrote The Pillow Book… and we’d eat Japanese food. I can’t imagine that she’d want to eat anything else. And she certainly wouldn’t approve of me being vegetarian, so sashimi and yakimono it is.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads? Title_Hamlets_Ghost_Jane_Tara

Forecast actually had a director attached at one stage, and I wrote the screenplay. I was really hoping for Isla Fisher and Shirley Maclaine to play Rowie and Gwendolyn. Unfortunately the project didn’t pan out.

I think Hamlet’s Ghost would be a fun romcom… Not sure who I’d cast however in my mind Kip looks suspiciously like David Gandy. Can he act?

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Oh sexy leads, definitely.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

I’d go back to the royal court in Heian Japan (794-1185). The world’s first novel, Tale of Genji was written during this time. There were many Heian women writers whose memoirs and diaries survive today. I’d love to hang out with Sei Shonagon, who was the lady-in-waiting to the Empress, and wrote a diary that was passed around the court for entertainment purposes. Her wit and strength and sharp observations astound me.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Learn how to meditate. I wish I’d understood the power of mindfulness from a young age. I now teach my sons. It’s a very powerful life tool.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

A fairy. I’ve been waiting my whole life for my mother to tell me I’m part Fey. Maybe next year, on my birthday…

Where do you write best? 

Perched up on my bed.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

I read non-fiction while I’m writing. I’ve just finished The Woman Who Changed Her Brain, by Barbara Arrowsmith-Young, the women who started the Arrowsmith School for kids with dyslexia and learning issues. Incredible story and inspiring work.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

Travel memoirs. I’m a traveller. I get restless living in one spot. I’ve lived in six countries, visited dozens more… I love being on the road. And I love reading travel memoirs. I plan to write one, one day.

Where can fans find you online?

janetara.com

https://www.facebook.com/Roadmancebooks?ref=hl

https://twitter.com/janetara

http://www.pinterest.com/roadmance/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1080134.Jane_Tara

http://momentumbooks.com.au/authors/jane-tara/

http://www.amazon.com/Jane-Tara/e/B0039AK7SI/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

 http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00KID48C0

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/hamlets-ghost-shakespeare/id881730385?mt=11

Leave a Reply

