Interview with Micah Persell

Micah Persell Author PicTell us about your publishing journey…

I was incredibly lucky:  I started Of Eternal Life, my first book, in the summer of 2011, and it was published by the summer of 2012.  Just one year from conception to being in readers’ hands.  I know not every author has such a story, and I hope I never take it for granted!
What do you love about being an author?
That moment I get an idea for a new story.  It’s the best feeling in the world, and it strikes at the most inopportune times.  That’s why I carry a journal on me always so when I’m at a party (or the grocery store), and the person I’m talking to relays a story that sets off an entire plot line in my head, I can sneak away and jot it down before I’ve lost it.
If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?
Very unoriginal, but I would have to choose Elizabeth Bennet from Pride and Prejudice.  She’s got the best personality of any character I’ve ever read!
If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?
For Of Eternal Life, I’ve always imagined City of Angels Meg Ryan as Abilene.  Eli is much, much harder to imagine.  I’ve actually never been able to picture any actor in his role!
Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?
I’m firmly in the “sexy lead” camp.  I’m a big ole chicken, and I never watch horror movies, so I would miss out on vampire awesomeness if they hadn’t crossed over into romance!
If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?Extraordinary Love Bundle Cover
I like this era!  As a woman, I’d like to keep the right to vote and speak my mind and all of that good stuff that is stillbeing worked on currently.  I’m excited to see how the world is changing and the opportunities my daughter is going to have that I didn’t.
What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?
“Everything matters, but not that much.”  I had a professor in college who said this often, and it really stuck with me.  I sweat the small stuff way too much, and the big stuff?  Forget about it.  I’m a basket case.  This little phrase has helped immensely in the midst of many a freak-out.
If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?
I’ve always thought Tolkien’s take on elves was phenomenal and not one that has been replicated to his level since.  I’d love to be one of his elves.  And, of course, getting to hang with Legolas wouldn’t suck.
Where do you write best? 
It changes with every book, oddly enough.  Past answers have been home office, work during my lunch break, and right after my work day but before going home.  Right now for my current work-in-progress, it’s on my couch, bouncing my three-month-old in her bouncy chair with my foot, Supernatural on the TV with low volume.  Specific, I know–but it’s writing magic for some reason at this point of my life.
What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?
I got an early copy of Dark Skye by Kresley Cole, and, of course, it’s the best thing I’ve read, as are all of her books.  Love that woman.
If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?
I’ve written in paranormal and historical, and I have a very rough draft of a YA cooling its heels while I figure out how to fix its many flaws, so I don’t have many genres left inside of romance!  I suppose…contemporary? If I was going to break out of romance entirely, I’d love to attempt a really gritty mystery, but I have a feeling I don’t have the attention span to plot out intricate twists and turns.
Where can fans find you online?
My website is www.micahpersell.com, and on my “Contact” page, I have links to all of my social media homes.  Hope to see you there!
2 comments on “Interview with Micah Persell

  1. Thank you, Nicky, for the amazing interview! Just realized, I forgot to say what Elizabeth Bennet and I would eat on our imaginary dinner date. It’d have to be In-n-Out Burger for sure. Mmmm, may have to take a writing break for some right now…. Best wishes for an epic Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

