Interview with Aimee Roseland

5758617Tell us about your publishing journey…
I think I’m a classic KDP author. I ended up sneaking in through the second story window of the business after the front door was slammed in my face. Well, not slammed precisely, but gently closed with a form-letter rejection from my dream agent (Nooooooo!!!!!!) I’ve done wonderfully well on Amazon as a self-pub. In hindsight, this arena is far more level for writers than traditional publishing is. Now it’s become my first choice rather than the hail Mary it began as.
What do you love about being an author?
Having the story. I don’t want to come off as mystic or anything, but being an author is sort of like having this secret window into another world. You’re the only one who can see through it. The only one with the ability to share what you’re seeing with everyone else. The people, these absolutely incredible characters that deserve to be known, can only exist through you. Pretty heady stuff when you think about it.
If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?
Jack from The Plucker, by Brom. We would have pretend tea with thimbles and buttons…
If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?
Dong Hyun Kim as Lucien. He’s an MMA fighter who’s in incredible shape and looks entirely capable of kicking monster butt. And Shailene Woodley as Chloe. Because she’d be so absolutely perfect…
Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?
Sexy leads. I totally weirded my mom out back in the day when I watched the first Subspecies movie and told her that I liked vampires. I even thought Radu was hot in a grody sort of way. Lol! Can’t help it. Vamps are in my blood…
If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?
I wouldn’t go back, I’d go forward about a thousand years. I desperately want to see how all this turns out. If I could elect to be kept alive indefinitely, even as a head in a jar, I’d do it just to see. When do we get the flying cars? When will we make it against the law to pollute the environment? When will we prove that there’s life on other worlds? If the time machine ONLY went backward I’d probably go to the late eighteen-hundreds. They still had all the pretty clothes, but there was slightly more sanitation. Penny Dreadful has me absolutely enthralled with the eighteen-nineties, can’t wait for next season!
What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?cover49083-medium
Don’t just try; do. Yoda was right. Trying is perceived effort. If feels like the best we can. But DOING is an action. It may feel pointless, a failure from the start, but doing is progress.
If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?
I would be a demon. Something powerful, without the moral expectation that other creatures are burdened with. I believe that demons are not necessarily instruments of evil so much as beings created from the opposing force, whatever that may be. Real evil, people that hurt those who are weaker than themselves, are all around us and would be easy prey for such a creature…
Where do you write best? 
At my desk, totally alone, in the quiet of the morning. Cup of coffee, internet browser off…perfect.
What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?
I read Kresley Cole’s MacRieve. I thought it was almost classic Kresley again. Unexpected, funny, shocking. She is my all time favorite author and her Immortals After Dark series is the best EVER. If you haven’t read A Hunger Like No Other, stop everything and do so now. I’ll wait.
If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?
I’d probably write children’s books. Laughter and hope are threaded through my stories pretty blatantly. I need an outlet for that compulsion or I’ll burst!
Where can fans find you online?
I’m a stalker rather than a sharer so I definitely won’t be found blasting updates for every little thing online. I have a Facebook author page and a Twitter account and blog. I also have a website with an email that I respond to daily. There’s nothing that I like more than connecting with fans of my work. I’m sure I have some bizzarro advice that might help an aspiring author kick over the hump as well. I love talking one-on-one, it’s just the impersonal social media offerings that I shy away from, I’m not called the Hermit on the Hill for nothing. But I am one-hundred percent present for personal emails from my peeps. Write me. I’m listening.
Leave a Reply

