Interview with Maggie LaCroix

mlacroixTell us about your publishing journey…

It was a long and winding road! First, it took a long time to write Zombified. An average of one chapter per month. Then I mailed pitches to agents without hearing anything back for months. But then something pretty amazing happened. Literary agencies sometimes put their unwanted requests in a folder in their conference room. A slush pile. And sometimes, an agent looking for a new project will go through the slush pile. Believe it or not, that’s what happened to Zombified! Then my wonderful agent, David Forrer at Inkwell Management in New York, found an equally wonderful publisher, the Writer’s Coffee Shop. Still, all said and done, the process took more than three years.

What do you love about being an author?

I’m not sure that I know what it means to be an author yet, as Zombified is my first book. But I certainly like writing. I like language and massaging words into perfect sentences. I have synesthesia -I mentally associate colors with letters- so the experience of writing is very vivid and colorful for me.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

There are characters that I do find intriguing like Miss Havisham, Tom Ripley, Patrick Bateman, the Marquise de Merteuil, but they are all pretty crazy and I don’t know if I’d like to have dinner with any of them, lest they poison my food. Maybe I should have dinner with my own characters to see if I got them right… What would we eat? Depends who’s paying.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads? Zombified-Low-Res-Cover

How fun is that question (and hopefully a good omen)! I really can’t see familiar faces for my characters; I imagine lesser-known young actors like Ximena Sarinana or Emily Rios (The Bridge) for Josie and Charles Michael Davis (The Originals) for Henri.

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Sexy, of course. Always sexy. I’m kind of bored with sexless horror. But of course, what makes vampires sexy is that they are also blood-hungry monsters!

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

I wouldn’t go back. I’d go forward. I’d go to 2050. I think it would be amazing to see what kind of craziness humans come up with in the future. There’s also a big chance that the sexes will be more equal and that would be a really cool thing to experience.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

“Pay attention to your life.” That’s by the American writer and theologian Frederick Buechner. It’s such a simple saying and yet it’s such good advice. What it says is, pay attention to your life because it is important (YOU are important), it can always be improved and it goes so fast. In other words, YOLO.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

I think I would want to be a creature that doesn’t have uncontrollable bloodthirst, ie: not a vampire, because that seems exhausting and messy. But I’d still like to be powerful. So, maybe a succubus?

Where do you write best? 

That’s really a question that I, like many female authors, don’t have the luxury to investigate. We have jobs, and/or kids. We write when and where we can, often late at night or early in the morning. (It’s not just female authors; Stephen King wrote Carrie in the laundry room of his trailer after hours.) It’s not always fun but it does motivate you to do the best with what little time you have and commit some words to the page.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

OK, so the last book I read is embarrassing so I won’t tell you about it (it was smutty…). But I’ll tell you about a book I read recently that I really liked. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (also loved her Sharp Objects and Dark Places) is just an unreliable narrator masterpiece. This guy’s wife is missing and he is heartbroken… or is he? I also loved Sybil Exposed by Debbie Nathan (full disclosure, she is a friend).  It’s a play-by-play retelling of the 1970s multiple personality hoax that was made famous by a Sally Field movie. It’s captivating.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

I used to be a newspaper reporter. If I didn’t write urban fantasies, I would write non-fiction. I would write the real stories behind the news stories that I reported. Hey, that’s a good idea. I should get started on that…

Where can fans find you online?

I’m on Facebook (www.facebook.com/mlacroix10), Goodreads (www.goodreads.com/author/show/8434345.Maggie_LaCroix) and Twitter (@mlacroix9). I’d love to see y’all there!

Zombified-Large-Blog-Tour-Banner

Leave a Reply

