Interview with Ryan Tandy

533483_639420532067_938368833_nTell us about your publishing journey…

I started writing about three years ago, but have been focus on prose for the last 12 months or so. I’ve tried journalism, film & TV scripts and graphic novels, but genre fiction is the thing I enjoy most. I’ve had a few short stories published so far and am looking to bring out my own collection in the next few months as an ebook.

What do you love about being an author?

Being able to take the twisted ‘What If’ scenarios that spring into my head and make them into something that (I hope) will entertain people.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

It would have to be the great gonzo journalist Raoul Duke (Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas). I imagine any consumption would be 95% liquid but we’d have a hell of a party!

If your story was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

As the story is set in Britain I’d prefer the actors to be British. I based the Grandfather character on an older Brian Blessed, but he’d probably need to age a few more years before playing the part. For the grandson I’m a big fan of Russell Tovey.

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Blood hungry monsters every time! I utterly loath the way Hollywood and YA fiction has taken all of these chilling, nightmarish creatures and turned them into tortured pretty boys. The best representation of vampires I’ve seen recently is in the film Stakeland, which cast vampires as a feral, more terrifying alternative to the zombie in a post apocalyptic scenario. If you haven’t seen it yet I’d advise catching it as soon as possible.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why? 

Lost in the Witching Hour

Lost in the Witching Hour

The Victorian Era, just so I could try and solve the mystery of Jack the Ripper.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

I wouldn’t say I have any particular piece of advice I wish I’d had sooner. If I could take my accumulative knowledge and experience and plant it into my 16 year old self it would probably give me an advantage, but at the same time it would take away the fun of learning from my long list of mistakes!

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

A werewolf, purely because I’m a huge fan of werewolf films!

Where do you write best?

My office at home; I’ve got the attention span of a concussed Labrador puppy so I need to be somewhere I can minimise distractions!

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

The last book I read was Idiopathy by Sam Byers. It’s an odd book to place in terms of genre but I’d happily recommend it. Very sharp satire of many aspects of popular culture mixed with a tale of people trying to deal with their own unhappiness with life in general. A little bleak and not the sort of thing I usually read but very entertaining.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

Science fiction; I’m a huge fan of the genre and certain books and films that have left an indelible mark on me. Some of my horror stories do occasionally stray into that territory but I’m yet to write a straight Sci-Fi story as of yet, although I do have a few ideas.

Where can fans find you online?

Check out the website and blog at http://www.ryantandy.net/ or follow me on Twitter @TheTandyMan

Leave a Reply

